Flourless Chocolate Mocha Cherry Cookie Cupcakes – Kosher for Passover (Sephardic)

I grew up with cake for breakfast all through the week of Passover. We would buy Manishewitz brand kosher le pesach cake mixes, and my mom and I would mix them up together. The funnest one was the marble cake mix, when I would create a masterpiece of a design in the batter and wait in suspense to see how it got distorted after baking.

Last year, we had to travel miles away to find the closest kosher market that sold those cake mixes, and when we got there, there wasn’t much selection. This year, the kosher market wasn’t selling Manishewitz cake mixes at all, so my mom grabbed a bunch of boxes of some gluten free Passover cake mixes. When we got home, she realized a main ingredient in those cakes was potato starch, and became totally weirded out. I have to admit, a cake made mostly out of potatoes did not sound too appealing to me. My mom despaired that the cakes would have even a chance of tasting good. She warned me I might be called upon to bake cakes from scratch, which I was not too happy about because, although I love baking, I knew I’d be stuck making chocolate, chocolate, chocolate everything because that’s all Mr. Grumpy (a.k.a. my brother) will eat in the morning. And I personally like some variety in my diet.

So I started researching kosher for Passover baking recipes, and found that many of them do include potato starch. I told my mom that this seemed promising for the gluten free cake mix, but she still was not convinced it would turn out.

Today she and my brother gave the gluten-free cake mix a whirl anyway, just on the off-chance it would taste good. And apparently it was okay. I didn’t try it, but my brother said it was a little bland. And bland is one thing I will not accept in my food, even during Pesach.

Isn’t it gorgeous?!?! ;)

Passover gluten-free cake mix

So I decided to try baking from scratch. I used a recipe I’ve been wanting to try for a while now, from What Jew Wanna Eat. The original recipe is for flourless chocolate cupcakes with a raspberry frosting. I adapted it to fit my fantasies… I had envisioned chocolate cupcakes with gooey cookie dough on top, but the cookie dough baked when I put it in the oven (DUH). So to achieve that cookie dough effect, maybe you could try baking the muffins for ten minutes or so first, then adding the cookie dough at the end so it just has enough time in the oven to sort of bond with the muffin, but not become a fully baked cookie. I actually do like the baked cookies as well, though – it’s like eating a deep chocolate cupcake ocean with crispy cookie islands floating on top. Don’t they look like little planets with land masses made of cookies?

flourless chocolate cupcakes with cookie and cherry: kosher for Passover

If you’re a chocoholic, then these cupcakes are for you. They are basically concentrated chocolate topped with yummy cookies complete with melty chocolate chips. There’s also a mocha flavor from the mocha cappuchino hazelnut butter I used to replace the butter called for in the recipe. The only problem is… I went and added cherries. I thought it would be a creative touch. But when I tasted it in the cupcake… eh. It wasn’t a deal-breaker, I just could have lived without any fruit in this dessert. This from a health nut and fruit lover. So my advice would be to just skip the cherries. But I’ll leave them in the directions to the recipe, just as an option. After all, my mom tried one and said she liked the cherry, so I guess to each his own.

flourless Passover chocolate cookie cupcake

Oh, and in case you’re wondering how I’m using cookie dough during Passover, this is gluten-free cookie dough. The flour in it has been entirely replaced with rice flour and garbanzo beans. Rice and beans are not kosher for Passover if you follow Ashkenazi traditions, but my family follows the Sephardic laws in terms of Passover. And don’t worry, the cookie dough does not taste like a Mexican side dish!

Flourless Chocolate Mocha Cherry Cookie Cupcakes

Based on this recipe

Makes 12 cupcakes

Passover flourless chocolate cupcakes with cookies and cherries

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup Jif brand Mocha Cappuchino Hazelnut Butter
  • between 1/3 and 1/2 banana (I didn’t taste banana at all in the cupcakes)
  • 6 tbls Truvia baking blend
  • 3 eggs (I used Egg Beaters)
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup pure cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup Eat Pastry brand gluten free chocolate chip cookie dough
  • optional: 12 frozen dark sweet cherries

Directions:

Line a muffin tin with 12 muffin cups.

In a saucepan, melt the chocolate and mocha cappuchino hazelnut butter until smooth. Remove from heat.

Preheat oven to 350 Fahrenheit.

Add the melted chocolate and hazelnut butter to a large bowl, and combine with the Truvia and banana. Blend with a mixer.

Add eggs one at a time, stirring in between each egg. Add vanilla and cocoa and mix.

Spoon batter into paper liners, filling each about 1/2 full, maybe less. Distribute the cherries so each cupcake gets one cherry (or just skip the cherries, I don’t think you’ll miss them!)

Top each cupcake with a glop of dough. Now, bake in the preheated oven for 15-20 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean.

Hey, there, cutie…

Passover chocolate flourless cookie cherry cupcake

Can I get your number?

kosher for passover chocolate flourless cupcake with cherries and cookies

kosher for Passover chocolate cherry cookie cupcake

Wait a minute, there’s fruit in you? No I don’t think this will work out goodbye!

Oh, don’t mind me. These cupcakes are really stellar. Even with the cherries. I just recommend leaving these flourless cakes fruitless as well.

flourless kosher for Pesach cupcakes with cherry and cookie and mocha

What Do You Think?

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

Kitchen Cici

Food Innovator, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

Andy: Photographer, Traveller & Chef

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbour. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." -Mark Twain

Laura Y.

body & healing

The Majestic Nature Blog - A Member of the 4-Aperture Blog Team

Landscape, Nature, and Travel Photography by Yiming Hu

veggiezest

Vegan & Vegetarian recipes from around the world

Hesitantly Healthy

Because junk food tastes good.

Simple Provisions

Food does not need to be fancy to be celebrated

My French Heaven

Cuisine, Design & Joie de vivre

Gluten Free Gus

Baking Joy Into Every Gluten-free Bite

Bam's Kitchen

Healthy World Cuisine

The High Heel Gourmet

by Miranti Borvornsin, the recipe and menu developer (specialize in Thai foods and Asian fusion) and custom confectionery designer for special events

HealthY, HaPpy & WhOle

“I wish for everyone to help create a strong, sustainable movement to educate every child about food, inspire families to cook again and empower people everywhere to fight obesity.” -JAMIE OLIVER

Bam's Kitchen

Unique International Dishes That Even Teenagers Will Enjoy

Alberto Monnar

Composer, Saxophonist, Pianist, Vocalist

Keep Calm and Eat On

One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well. ~ Virginia Woolf

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

