Rich Pumpkin White Chocolate Cake…in the Microwave!

I’ve had this recipe on instructables.com bookmarked for a while. It was to make a single-serve brownie in the microwave. I’d sort of forgotten about it, but I realized I wanted to try it, so I did. Unfortunately, we didn’t have any cocoa powder in our house, besides Hershey’s cocoa. And there were a lot of comments on the website where I got the recipe that said they used Hershey’s cocoa to make the brownie and it turned out terrible. So I was turned off using Hershey’s, and we had a lot of Peet’s cocoa jars sitting on the counter so I thought I could use that – but they were all empty!!!

I decided to just not make a chocolate brownie. I’m not a person who needs every dessert to be chocolate all the time. I’m actually a fan of the less popular, “weird” flavors like strawberry cheesecake ice cream or pretty much anything caramel. I’m also into combining flavors that aren’t on the usual list of cliche pairings of ingredients everyone puts together (i.e.: apple and cinnamon, vanilla ice cream and Oreo cookies, etcetera.) So I made a pumpkin cake with white chocolate chips instead of the cocoa. It’s not really a brownie because it’s not brown, but I wouldn’t call it a blondie either. (Maybe it’s a redhead!)

I expected the white chocolate chips to melt in the microwave and spread throughout the brownie, but they only got a little softened and mostly stayed in one piece. The main body of the cake turned out to mostly be pumpkin flavored, which was fine with me. It was very rich, and I will definitely be experimenting with more microwave desserts in the future. Here is the recipe for this one:

Rich Pumpkin White Chocolate Microwave Cake

Ingredients:

  • 4 tbsp flour
  • 4 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp Grandma Hoerner’s pumpkin butter
  • 2 tbsp water
  • a tiny bit of salt
  • a couple shakes of cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 16 or so white chocolate chips

Directions:

Add the dry ingredients to a medium-large mug and mix. Then add the pumpkin butter and water. Fold in white chocolate chips, and mix until there are no dry clumps.

Microwave on high for a minute or so. (At first I did a little less than a minute, and it was a consistency closer to thick pudding than a brownie or cake. So I put it in for another 20 or so seconds, and I think that was just a smidge too long because it was a little less moist than I would have preffered. So I should go for somewhere in the middle of those two times the next time I do this. Everyone’s microwave is different, so I suggest just using your judgement and cooking for a little shorter than you think at first just in case you don’t need as much time in the microwave as you predicted.)

Once you are done microwaving, let cool for a minute or two. The next step is self-explanatory… dig in!

After I had my own cake/brownie/redhead thingamabob, Sam started saying he was hungry. My dad was supposed to be bringing him pizza, but hadn’t arrived yet. So I made him a mug brownie using the same recipe, except instead of the pumpkin butter I used peanut butter, and I replaced the white chocolate chips with a couple generous handfuls of semisweet chocolate chips. The chocolate did somewhat melt this time, and looked pretty yummy. However, dad came home with the pizza almost exactly as I finished making the brownie, so it sat ignored in the microwave until my mom tried it. She said she liked it, but couldn’t finish it because it was very rich.

My brother declined all offers to dip his own spoon in the peanut butter brownie…until we’d all left the kitchen to move on with our lives. Then he asked my mom, almost in a whisper, “can I try some of the brownie Sabine made?” Mom said sure, and he was off to the kitchen in a flash. Puzzled, I remarked to my mom, “he never tries anything I make,” and she said, “there’s a first time for everything.” Hopefully that wasn’t the last time either. I’d like for my brother to be a fan of the stuff I make. He’s usually very uninterested in it, but that may turn around…

3 responses

  1. Nice that Sam wanted it after all. It reminds me actually of microwaved oatmeal. I put pumpkin butter in that.

  2. Good idea! Maybe I’ll try that sometime.

  3. You definitely need a friend to help eat that peanut butter chocolate chip brownie. It’s very rich, but also very good!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

