The Perfect Chocolate Bar Smoothie (It’s Healthy, Too!)

Yesterday, in honor of Halloween, I started the day with a chocolate smoothie, which included a chocolate bar I got at Whole Foods. I actually as a rule do not eat the type of candy you’d get on Halloween because it has so many unnatural ingredients and virtually no valuable nutrients. I also don’t even like a lot of those candies. I did go trick-or-treating this year with friends, but I plan to donate my bag full of candy. (I’m going to throw a toothbrush in the bag as well, just to set a good example.)

Anyway, the candy in this smoothie contains 4 grams of fiber and 3 grams of protein per serving. That’s significantly more than the fiber and protein in those granola bars you can buy at the store. Finally! An excuse to eat candy for breakfast!

The smoothie was very chocolatey, with some almond flavor from the candy and the almondmilk I used. It also had a hint of pumpkin and spice in the background.

Most of the chocolate bar got ground into little bits, but there were several larger pieces that I scooped from the bottom of the cup with my spoon and chewed. (I always drink my smoothies with a spoon and a straw; each tool is specialized for a certain aspect of professional smoothie drinking.)  This smoothie is good to make for yourself if you like chocolate candy or experience severe chocolate cravings!

Chocolate Almond Banana Smoothie

(For lack of the creativity to come up with a better name at the moment)

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 1 carton Silk brand chocolate almondmilk
  • 2 tbsps Grandma Hoerner’s pumpkin butter
  • 5-6 ice cubes
  • 1/2 Theo brand organic fair trade cherry and almond flavored dark chocolate bar

Directions:

Place all ingredients in blender except for the chocolate bar. Blend for a couple minutes. Add the chocolate bar, broken up into 6-8 pieces, and blend for another 15 seconds or until it is in small bits. If there are still some large chunks that is good. (In my opinion.)

This is a picture I tried to take of Artemis popping up to steal my straw as I was photographing the smoothie. It’s blurry because she moves very fast (and I’m not exactly a master photographer to begin with ) but you can kind of see her sneaky little face, determined to obtain one of her favorite playthings. I took three straws from Whole Foods the night before, and she stole two of them total – my mom gave her one to play with that evening and she took one in the morning (as you can see.) So it’s a good thing I took a bunch. She loves to chase them around the house, then rip open the paper wrapping with her teeth to discover the fascinating plastic straw inside. Unfortunately, she has a habit of chewing on plastic, so we have to take it away from her after she rips it open. She looks at you with these endearing, wistful eyes, like, “why did you take my toy away from me?”

As you can see, if I was a parent I’d probably spoil my children. Speaking of being spoiled, why not go ahead and spoil yourself with this dark chocolate bar smoothie?

3 responses

  1. I think Artemis has specialized tools for stealing straws, just like you do for drinking smoothies!

  2. I thought it was going to be a photo of Artemis looking at Francisco. The smoothie sounds delicious.

  3. It is delicious, and furthermore the chocolate has more fiber than oatmeal or peanut butter per serving! I am so impressed with its nutritional value.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

