“Brownie Points” Cookies

I felt bad because I kind of insulted my friend the other day, totally unintentionally, but I sort of felt like a jerk. I wanted to make amends with her and everyone else who in my overactive imagination now hated me, so I figured I’d bake something chocolatey and give it out to my friends at school.

I wanted to make cookies. But these turned out kind of brownie-esque, which doesn’t have to be a bad thing. They were like tiny, neat little piles of chewy chocolate brownie, with a barely detectable hint of Autumn-y spices in honor of the season. Not only do they taste good, they are low in fat and contain some vitamin A from the pumpkin butter.

My friends said they liked them, and my parents ate a few, but we still had some left over so I took them over to my grandma’s house today, where various brave relatives ventured a taste. (People still don’t entirely trust my baking, since I so recently declared independence from the shortcut mixes and refrigerated doughs that usually contain a myriad of un-pronouncable ingredients.)

My grandma slipped and called them “brownies”, and had to be told they were cookies. When you’re a kid you learn that if your parents have to inform other people what your creation of any sort is supposed to be, it must not really look like/taste like it’s supposed to. But I’m not too disappointed – there’s nothing wrong with brownies that come in cute, convenient little servings. And, I earned brownie points with several people for baking and sharing them! In case anyone’s interested, here is the recipe:

Chocolate Chocolate Brownie Cookies

Makes 18 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Grandma Hoerner’s pumpkin butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup cocoa (I used Hershey’s cocoa)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • cinnamon
  • nutmeg
  • a little less than 1/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a large bowl, beat the pumpkin butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla until mixture is sort of fluffy. Add the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt, and one shake each of cinnamon and nutmeg straight from the shaker. (Or you could try using more for more fall flavor.) Mix until well blended. Fold in chocolate chips.

Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until a cake tester comes out clean.

One response

  1. Oh, pooh! I saw those but didn’t eat one. I would have, if I knew you made them. I was too tempted by the chocolate roll that was there.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

