Healthier Milkshake: Ultra-Chocolate with Cookie Dough

I recently tried these frozen chocolate coconut milk bars from Whole Foods market. I loved this same company’s vanilla almondmilk frozen sandwiches, but the chocolate bars didn’t taste very chocolatey, which was quite disappointing.

Whenever something isn’t so amazing on its own, my first response is, “how can I incorporate this into a smoothie that will actually taste good?” So, in this case, I immediately began planning my frozen chocolate smoothie. I still have some of the vegan cookie dough left over from when I made peanut butter cookie dough donuts, and I’ve been using the cookie dough in smoothies, so it was a natural thing to throw in. I may have blended the cookie dough into the smoothie for too long, because it wasn’t large globs so much as an overall cookie dough-y texture throughout the entire smoothie. However, this may have been even better than having several bigger globs.

I wouldn’t change a thing about this smoothie, and highly recommend it to anyone who likes milkshakes. It’s healthier than a traditional milkshake because the coconut milk chocolate bar and the banana contain significant fiber, the milk I used provides calcium, and the whole thing is low fat. If you want to make the whole thing dairy-free, you could replace the regular milk with coconut milk or almondmilk.

Here is the recipe:

Chocolate Cookie Dough Milkshake

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp Hershey’s cocoa
  • 1 So Delicious brand frozen chocolate coconut milk creamy fudge bar
  • 1/4 cup Eat Pastry brand vegan peanut butter chocolate chip cookie dough

Directions:

Put all ingredients except cookie dough in the blender. Personally, I left the fudge bar for last (besides the cookie dough), so it could stay in the freezer for the longest possible amount of time and not melt. When it was time to put the fudge bar in the blender, I took off the wrapper, held it by the stick over the blender, and used a spoon to scrape the bar off the stick. Once that’s done, blend for a minute. I had to stop the blender a couple times and use a knife to break up some of the fudge bar chunks, so they could blend more easily. Once the mixture has a creamy texture, stop blender and add cookie dough in several globs. Blend for 8-12 seconds or until desired texture is achieved. Pour into a glass and enjoy a decadent tasting, yet healthy treat!

Note: After I was done blending, I put the shake in the freezer while I put away all the ingredients, washed out the blender, etcetera. I usually put smoothies in the fridge while I do all that stuff, but putting it in the freezer helped it stay really cold and maintain the sort of creamy frozen-ish texture.

3 responses

  1. The soy attempts at chocolate (or any flavor) usually don’t work so it was good to utilize it in a smoothie.

  2. I’ve noticed these non-dairy things are usually better in the vanilla than the chocolate.

  3. I like how you made lemonade out of lemons – or smoothies out of milk bars.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

