The Cookies That Aren’t Cookies… But Taste Good Anyway!

Today I decided to make some cookies using the ingredients we already had lying around the house. I’ve been trying lately to make cookies that turn out more crispy than my previous ones, which have tended to be reminiscent of very soft scones or something. It can be a bit frustrating that when I try to make cookies, they turn into scones, when I try to make scones, they turn into muffins, etcetera…

Anyway, these cookies are the opposite of crispy. They’re more like flat little cakes. In fact, it was hard to get them off the cookie sheet without being broken up into bits, and they had to be eaten using a fork because they were so soft. I smushed some of them into little balls and put them in the freezer to see if they’d harden somewhat over time. I’ll be sure to post an update on that if it works out.

Meanwhile, the things I baked (I don’t know what specifically to call them since they’re not exactly cookies) do taste good. My mom told me, “if your goal was to make something delicious, you achieved it.” They are also flourless, and healthy since they contain peanut butter, banana, coconut, and almonds. If anyone reading this can come up with some way to adapt the recipe so it’s not so messy, feel free to try it and I’d be interested to know the results. I imagine the cookie dough could be pressed flat on a round pie pan and baked as the crust for a cream pie of some kind, possibly…

Here is the recipe I used. (I basically took a regular cookie recipe and replaced the flour with other stuff.)

Banana Peanut Butter Coconut White Chocolate Almond Cookies

Makes 18 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 3 tbsps egg beaters egg substitute (or you could use one real egg or a vegan egg substitute)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 large banana
  • 3/4 cup sweetened coconut flakes
  • 1/4 cup sliced almonds
  • about 11/2 tbsp white chocolate chips (or semisweet chocolate could probably be used as well)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Generously grease a cookie sheet with cooking spray.

Microwave peanut butter for about 18 seconds, or however long is needed to slightly soften it. In a small bowl, thoroughly mix together the peanut butter, white sugar, brown sugar, egg beaters, and vanilla.

Mash the banana into small, mushed bits. I did this in a large bowl.

Add the salt, baking soda, coconut flakes, almond slices, and white chocolate chips. Mix everything together until it’s all combined.

Use a spoon to drop 18 globs of the mixture onto the cookie sheet. Flatten them slightly so they sort of look like cookies. (Or if you’re making this in a different form other than cookies, place in whatever baking pan necessary.)

Bake for 8-11 minutes, or until cookies are brown on the edges and a cake tester comes out clean. (Or if you’re making these not as cookies, adjust baking time as necessary.)

As I mentioned previously, they taste scrumptious. They just need to be somehow incarnated into a form that works with the texture, and doesn’t fall apart while you’re trying to eat it. I don’t doubt I’ll end up using these in a smoothie at some point.

 

3 responses

  1. Maybe it’s a pudding. The coconut flakes are a nice touch.

    1. That’s a good idea. It could probably be sort of pudding-esque, without the baking soda and if I used something besides eggs I wouldn’t even have to bake it at all.

  2. Your photos make it so easy to see how to do the recipe. I wish someone would do as good a job for some of the jewelry projects I see in books.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

