Fudgey Nutella Banana Brownies

Chocolate… Nutella… Banana… Fudge…

I bet you’re jealous, looking at this photo of an ultra-chocolatey, almost-fudge, homemade brownie which I ate last night hot out of the oven, and I still have a lot more where this came from just waiting in my fridge.

Here’s some consolation, for those of you drooling at your computer screen as your mood ring turns green with envy: at least you haven’t been zombified, transformed into one of the undead groaning in a subhuman vocalization, “brownies…must…eat…brownies…” Though you may be hypnotized by the image of divine dessert temptation on your screen, please be warned before you preheat the oven that eating these delectable brownies is certain to transform you into a brownie-zombie. As I am writing this it is the morning after I baked these, and so far I have not eaten anything that did not include a brownie since yesterday evening. I had one for dessert last night, I had one for breakfast just now, then I threw another one into my smoothie. It may be too late for me, but you still have a chance! Do not be taken over by the force of chocolate hazelnut banana goodness! Turn away from the computer screen, and do not become a zombie!

Actually, I seriously recommend baking these brownies. They are a delicious comfort food without too much fat or calories.

I made these yesterday evening, after a discouraging cookie failure earlier in the day. I made cookies that were flat and hard, and my mood matched the gray rainclouds outside.

I am learning that baking is really a trial-and-error activity, and I just need to get used to the fact that about 60% of my baking attempts are errors. Maybe someday I’ll be really good at it, but for now I should probably put things in the oven on the assumption that they won’t turn out, so I can be pleasantly surprised if they do, and I won’t be too disappointed if they are total failures.

Oh, who am I kidding? No matter what, putting in the effort to bake something and having it be a flop is always going to be disappointing. I just have to do my best to learn from my mistakes.

Thank goodness these brownies turned out well, because I might have gone completely insane if they didn’t. I tend to overreact to stuff like this.

If you need a homemade brownie fix, and aren’t too concerned about becoming a chocovore zombie, go ahead and check out this page for the full recipe for fudgey nutella banana brownies.

And here is the smoothie I made this morning using a brownie:

Chocolate Mint Apple Nutella Banana Brownie Smoothie

(it sounds weird, I know. You just have to try it to get how the flavors totally work together!)

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa (I used Trader Joe’s brand cocoa)
  • 1/2 cup Stonyfield Organic Minty Chocolate Chip flavored lowfat frozen yogurt
  • 4-6 ice cubes
  • 1 chocolate Nutella banana brownie (about 1/16 of entire recipe. I’m sure any type of chocolate brownie sould work just as well. If your brownie doesn’t have Nutella in it I suggest adding some to the smoothie to get the chocolate hazelnut flavor.)

Directions:

Place all ingredients in blender, except for the brownie. Blend until smooth. (You may have to stop the blender a few times to cut the frozen yogurt chunks into smaller pieces so they can get blended more easily.) Then add the brownie in several pieces, and blend for a few seconds to get brownie chunks floating throughout the smoothie.

2 responses

  1. I can’t wait to taste one of those brownies! You make them sound so good.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

