Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Smoothie Parfait

There are days when I feel stupid, days when I feel average, and days when I feel like I may be a genius. Most of the stupid days are days when I have to take a chemistry or a math test. The normal days are days when I might make something average, like a chocolate smoothie. The genius days are when I create something revolutionary. I think today was one of those days.

For breakfast this morning I had a cheesecake flavored smoothie. It tasted just like cheesecake in drinkable form, and even had a “graham cracker crust”. I have a feeling this is going to be the beginning of an era of cheesecake smoothies. My mom might even want one if I found some way to incorporate peanut butter. (Would that be gross or good? I can’t decide.) This smoothie will be a good compromise for me until I’m a masterful enough baker to conquer real cheesecake. (I’m not too impressed with my own baking skills nowadays, since yesterday for Thanksgiving I tried to make cinnamon rolls and they turned out like globs of wet dough so I gave up on that idea. Then I made chocolate muffins which my mom assured me were good, but I wouldn’t try one because they were gray, for goodness’ sake. Call me prejudiced, but I like my muffins to be an appetizing color.)

Anyway, here is the recipe for the cheesecake flavored smoothie.

Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Smoothie Parfait

Ingredients:

  • 12 honey flavored Teddy Grahams brand crackers
  • 1 banana
  • 1 vanilla Greek yogurt (I used Yoplait brand Greek yogurt)
  • 2 wedges Laughing Cow brand spreadable cheese, creamy swiss flavor
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 5-6 ice cubes
  • 4 Hershey’s dark chocolate chips (you know, the big kind with the foil that is endless fun to peel off)

Directions:

Lay the Teddy Grahams on a plate, wrapped inside a paper towel. Use a spoon and/or your hand or another tool to crush them into little bits.

Put the banana, yogurt, cheese, milk, and ice into the blender and blend until smooth. Stop the blender and add the unwrapped chocolate chips. Blend for a few seconds. (I only did it for about four seconds but I don’t think that was enough time because three of the four chocolate chips were practically unscathed after I poured the smoothie out of the blender, so I ended up just dropping them into the smoothie whole. Oh well.)

Put enough of the crushed Teddy Grahams into the cup so there is a substantial layer on the bottom, like a crust. Reserve some of the Teddy Graham crumbs, however, for the top layer.

Pour the smoothie on top of the “crust” and sprinkle what’s left of your crumbs on top.

Bon appetite!

6 responses

  1. hahaha your genius days sound like my smug food moments, when I create something really good I am so smug and happy with myself, I know I’m blowing it out of proportion but I am so pleased with myself I can’t help it!

    1. Haha! I get this feeling a lot when I bake something and it actually turns out, since that’s a big achievement for me:)

  2. What happens to the graham crackers at the bottom of the glass? Thanks for reminding me of those little cheese triangles. I used to love them.

    1. I just mixed the graham cracker crumbs into the smoothie with my spoon. About the cheese triangles: they are an emblem of my childhood as well! I loved the picture of the “laughing cow” on the packaging.

  3. Great idea to put graham crackers at the bottom and the top!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

