Easy Apple Cinnamon French Toast Tortilla

Yesterday I saw a post on rantingchef.com about peanut butter and jelly French toast sandwiches. Ever since then I’ve been trying to think of something creative and French-toast-related to make for breakfast. I always like to take something someone else came up with and twist it to make it my own. I detest actually following old-school recipes to the letter. That’s why I admired the idea of peanut butter and jelly French toast – two simple, classic recipes are combined into one. I was thinking of doing a Nutella French toast sandwich, but that didn’t seem interesting enough. So I kept thinking, trying to come up with something… and ended up ditching the bread altogether and making a French toast tortilla!

This is definitely a prototype recipe, because it wasn’t close to perfect – it was hard to cut in order to eat it, and a bit messy. However, the taste was great, and I’ll just have to keep working on the messiness. Or not – after all, what cinnamon treat in history has ever not been messy?!

This is the recipe for one tortilla. I’m sure two tortillas could be made using the same amount of the egg mixture, since there was quite a bit left over. Feel free to multiply this recipe to whatever quantity you please.

Easy Apple Cinnamon French Toast Tortilla

makes one serving

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • splash of milk
  • dash of vanilla
  • 1 medium flour tortilla
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 medium gala apple
  • a sprinkling of cinnamon

Directions:

Spray a small nonstick pan with cooking spray. Then chop the apple. I recommend chopping it into relatively small pieces so it’s easier to eat in forkfuls. Set aside the apple pieces.

Sprinkle a bit of the brown sugar on the plate you plan to serve this on.

In a small bowl, beat the egg, about 2 tablespoons of milk, and a dash of vanilla, just like for regular old French toast.

Place the pan over medium heat and dip the tortilla in the egg mixture until there is a thin coating all over it. It is kind of hard to get the egg onto the middle of the tortilla so I just put a lot of egg on the edges and let it flow to the center.

Once the tortilla is coated with egg, place it on the pan on medium heat. Use a spatula to flip it after a few seconds. Repeat this process until the tortilla kind of looks like lightly browned French toast in tortilla form.

Turn off the heat and place the tortilla on the plate. Sprinkle the remaining brown sugar on top of the tortilla. Place the apple on top.

Sprinkle cinnamon on the apples.

Fold the tortilla over and dig in!

I needed to use a sharp knife to cut the tortilla into edible pieces. But it didn’t taste too rough or anything; it was really ambrosial. If you don’t mind getting your hands sticky, go ahead and use them to eat this dish. (I’m imagining serving this to my family. Each person would go about devouring it a different way: My dad would use mainly his mouth with some help from his hands. My mom would try to use a fork and knife, but end up just pulling it apart with her hands. My brother would probably just use a spoon to delicately lift the apples and bring one to his mouth. Actually, he probably wouldn’t eat it at all since he doesn’t like apples. He actually said to me today, “I’d never eat anything that was apple.” There’s just no pleasing some people, is there?!)

You might also like:

Caramel Apple Cinnamon Rolls

6 responses

  1. I can’t believe your brother really said that about apples!

  2. Clever idea for tortillas! I might microwave the apples so they are warm and soft.

    1. Good idea! I was just too impatient for that at the time. But it was good the way it was too, crisp and fresh – tasting. Either way would probably work.

  3. Really crazy! We must think alike because I had this idea a few days ago and planned on making apple butter/cinnamon stuffed french toast tortillas! Haha 🙂

    1. That sounds delicious. I’ve been wanting to buy/make apple butter for some time now.

      1. Oh ya do buy it! I highly recommend it 🙂 It’s really great if you put in on toast with natural peanut butter and a sprinkle of cinnamon (instead of traditional Pb & J) It’s also super tasty in oatmeal!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

