Better than Nutella!

Recently I made Nutella banana brownies, which were very good. I thought at first that I would have to make Nutella a staple in my kitchen, since it tasted so great in the brownies.

Nutella Banana Brownie

However, my enthusiasm for the product faded over time as I noticed the following unforgivable characteristics of Nutella:

It’s much less healthy than peanut butter, containing only a pitiful one gram of fiber and 3 grams of protein in a two tablespoon serving. One serving also packs 3.5 grams of saturated fat.

After being refrigerated for a few days, the Nutella in the container became hard. I could barely wrench it out of the jar with my knife, let alone actually spread it on a piece of bread. In fairness, on the website it is stated that Nutella should be stored at room temperature, but I didn’t see that clearly printed on the packaging anywhere, so either the company should make that more clear or I need to go get my eyes checked. (Again, in fairness, I have been a bit of an airhead lately, so that may have contributed to the case of the invisible “do not refrigerate” warning.)

Luckily, I have found a product that suits my desires much better than Nutella. Peanut Butter and Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter blend is so rich and delicious it’s a wonder there’s no law against it.

Justin's Dark Chocolate Dreams Peanut Butter

I use it in smoothies and spread it on bananas in the morning. I have also tried it on strawberries for a healthy and delectable dessert. I imagine it would also be good on ice cream or apples; there are infinite uses for the divine substance and I was so sad when I used up my first jar of it a few months ago. I was reluctant to buy it again because I usually find it boring to buy the same thing over and over again. So I kept searching for a new nut butter of some kind, but nothing could replace the thick, smooth texture and sublime taste of Peanut Butter and Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter blend. So I caved in and bought it a second time.

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter on Strawberry

This spread is better than Nutella because, for one thing, it’s healthier. It has 2 grams of fiber and 6 grams of protein in two tablespoons. That’s twice as much as Nutella! Furthermore, the chocolate peanut butter only contains 2.5 grams of saturated fat, which is a gram less than Nutella has per serving.

Peanut Butter and Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter blend does need to be refrigerated. I like having it chilled, because that way when I take it out of the fridge it’s cool and tastes like a healthy version of fudge!

Dark Chocolate Dreams Peanut butter

Disclaimer: I am aware that there are some people out there who are pretty fanatic about Nutella and may be offended by a post criticizing that which they hold most dear out of all other items in their kitchens. This post does not mean to offend anyone. If you are a Nutella lover don’t worry too much about it being “unhealthy”; all foods are okay in moderation. In fact, it’s not as bad as some other possible ice cream toppers out there. It just isn’t as amazing as Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter, which is simply better.

Source: http://www.nutellausa.com

 

Note: When I previously typed this post I mixed up the brand name, Peanut Butter and Co., with Justin’s, a different brand. I apologize for any confusion this may have caused. I was probably not thinking due to dark chocolate peanut butter being the only thing my brain could focus on. MUST…EAT…DARK…CHOCOLATE…PEANUT BUTTER…:)

2 responses

  1. The dark chocolate PB certainly sounds tempting. You can microwave the peanut butter (or nutella) to soften it for spreading.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

