Savory Biscuits with Avocado and Lemon

I’ve been wanting to bake something for a while now. I kept coming up with ideas for sweet pastries and treats like pound cakes or muffins or danishes, but by yesterday when I finally had time to do some baking none of those things appealed to me. It was one of those rare occasions when I felt more inclined to make/eat something savory, as opposed to sweet.

So I searched for an olive bread recipe, but everything I found looked hard and involved yeast. It was just too daunting for an amateur baker like me, and I despaired… until I saw a recipe on the kitchn for plain, savory bread not made with yeast, but in a loaf pan, with several variations. I was all set to prepare that bread… until I saw that it would take almost an hour to bake. No thanks, I did not want to be stuck in the house waiting for 45 to 50 minutes for bread to bake. Maybe some other day, or if it wasn’t already 2:00 and I needed to have the bread ready for my lunch.

So I decided to use the same recipe, but make it in a muffin tin. That way it wouldn’t need to bake for as long. I expected savory muffins, but they ended up with a soft biscuit texture. They were quite good warm, and tasted sort of buttery even though the recipe contains no butter. Here is my recipe:

Savory Biscuits with Avocado and Lemon

makes 12 Buscuits

avocado lemon biscuit

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tsps baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 plain flavor Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup Egg Beaters egg substitute (or one egg)
  • 1/4 of a ripe avocado
  • 4 tbsps cold water
  • 1 tsp plus 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • (I added a pinch of sesame seeds, but it’s not really noticeable at all in the biscuits, so I guess that part’s optional. Or you could try adding more sesame seeds)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. Line a muffin tin with twelve paper muffin cups.

In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients.

In a small bowl, mash 1/4 of a ripe avocado using a fork. Add 1 tsp lemon juice and mix. The mixture will be chunky. Mix it in to the dry mixture.

Add the yogurt, water, and the additional 1 tbsp lemon juice. Mix all ingredients together, being careful not to overmix. If you are adding sesame seeds or something else, fold it in at this point. The texture of the mixture will be more like dough than batter.

Fill each muffin cup about 2/3 to 3/4 of the way full with the dough. Bake in the preheated oven for about 13 minutes or when a cake tester or toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.

Serve warm and enjoy!

savory avocado lemon biscuit

4 responses

  1. I’ve never heard of avocado being baked into something. I guess it’s like the substitute for butter. And lemon of course goes well with it.

    1. I’ve been thinking about making something with avocado ever since I saw this ad on my computer for avocados. The ad linked to a website with tons of weird uses for avocados, such as in milkshakes, smoothies and cakes.

  2. These were delicious. Thanks for making them.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

