Pioneer Avocado Smoothie

I’m sick today. My throat is sore. This seems to happen to me; one day I’m fine and the next day I just get sick out of nowhere. I just hope I feel better by this Sunday because I’m performing in my temple’s choir at an old age home.

I wanted a lunch that wouldn’t scratch my throat, so I made this smoothie. I had planned to use orange juice and possibly grapefruit as well, but the idea of a citrus-y taste just didn’t appeal to me as citrus can aggravate cuts, and I felt like I had a thousand tiny cuts inside my throat. (I know that’s not what a sore throat is, but that’s what it feels like.) So I did the natural thing and made a chocolate smoothie instead. Not as high in vitamin C, but it did have something very healthy in it… avocado. Avocado has healthy fats in it, which help your body go through its necessary processes. It does not contain saturated fat, which is the “bad fat” that can lead to high cholesterol. It is also a good source of fiber and numerous other valuable vitamins and minerals.

avocado chocolate smoothie...very thick!

This was the first time I ever made an avocado smoothie. I’d heard of it before and it sounded interesting. Then I realized I had some avocado left over from the other day when I made avocado lemon biscuits. Why not use some of it up in an unusual way?

This smoothie was super thick and delicious. It tasted mainly like chocolate and banana, with a hint of avocado and mint. Next time I make an avocado smoothie, I may use more avocado or combine it with different flavors, so the avocado flavor is complemented, but isn’t overpowered.

Here is the recipe, for anyone who wants a thick, rich smoothie laden with the health benefits of avocado.

Chocolate Banana Avocado Smoothie

chocolate banana avocado smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 1/4 of a whole ripe avocado
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 Snack Pack brand butterscotch pudding snack
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup Stonyfield brand minty chocolate chip frozen yogurt
  • 3 ice cubes

Directions:

Blend all ingredients in blender. I recommend adding the frozen yogurt and ice last, so they stay frozen. Once all ingredients are blended and texture is smooth, stop blender and pour smoothie into glass. I would chill it in the freezer for a few minutes while putting everything away, so that frozen texture and temperature is maintained. Enjoy! (And stay healthy this cold season!)

chocolate avocado smoothie

Sources: http://www.livestrong.com, http://www.med.nyu.edu

2 responses

  1. I’m sorry you’re sick with a sore throat. The thing I like about the smoothie is the butterscotch pudding!!

    1. Butterscotch is my favorite flavor. I’ve bought that same flavor twice, which is a record for me of buying the same flavor.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

