Single-Serve Gingerbread Pancake

It’s Saturday, but I didn’t have my usual smoothie for breakfast today because 1) it’s too cold and 2) I didn’t have much time this morning because I was going to an event at the Presbyterian church. An organization called The Giving Spirit was having volunteers assemble kits to distribute to the homeless of Los Angeles. I am very motivated to help the homeless in any way possible, because I think it’s so sad that they are out in the cold and feel alone all the time. With that said, after 4 1/2 hours straight of tossing shampoo bottles into bag after bag, on my feet the whole time, right next to an open door letting in the freezing air, and then coming home and working on math homework, I needed some comfort. And since my breakfast this morning had been disappointingly boring and smoothie-less, I decided I might as well eat a breakfast item for lunch, along with my Lightlife vegetarian meal. How about a pancake?

I came up with this idea a few days ago to make gingerbread flavored pancakes. And I only wanted to make enough for one person, since no one else was home but my sleeping dad, who probably wouldn’t want them anyway. So this recipe was an experiment with many variables: does it work to make a single-serve pancake? Is the amount of ginger I’m putting in too much? Will it taste good? How does one make pancakes anyway (I’d never made any before)?

I was practically certain something would go wrong, but nothing did and it tasted amazing! There was just a perfect quantity of ginger, so I could taste it but it wasn’t overpowering. I took a bite and could just feel myself being transported to a warm cottage in the snowy mountains, sitting with family in front of a fireplace and gingerbread cookies fresh from the oven.

This recipe is a lovely thing to make for your family during the holiday season. I might experiment with adding pieces of fruit and/or chocolate chips in the shape of a face, like the “gingerbread man” cookie in pancake form. If you (unlike me) are a seasoned pancake-maker, making the pancake in the shape of an actual gingerbread man might be a possibility.

Here is the recipe I used. If you want to make more than one pancake, the recipe can easily be multiplied by two, four, sixteen, whatever!

Single-Serve Gingerbread Pancake

Recipe based on Single Serving Pancakes from bellkidscooking.blogspot.com

Makes 1 pancake

bad photo of gingerbread pancake

(I apologize for bad photo quality but I had to use photo booth on my computer to take the pics because my mom is out of the house with the one working digital camera we have between us.)

Ingredients:

Pancake:

  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • a pinch of ginger
  • one shake of cinnamon
  • 1 tsp egg (I used Egg Beaters – so useful to have that in the house)
  • 1/4 cup milk

Gingerbread Glaze (the best part!):

 

  • a little less that 1/4 cup of powdered sugar
  • about 2/3 of 1/4 tsp ginger (a little goes a long way)
  • 1 shake cinnamon
  • 1 tsp milk

Directions:

Spray a nonstick pan with cooking spray.

In a small bowl, combine glaze ingredients and stir until it has the consistency of glaze, like for donuts. Set aside.

In another small bowl, combine all the dry pancake ingredients. Stir in the wet pancake ingredients. Batter will be liquid-y.

Turn pan onto high-medium heat and drop batter onto pan. When the top is bubbly, flip the pancake and cook for another minute or so.

When pancake is done cooking, place onto plate, drizzle with glaze, and get ready for yumminess!

another bad photo of gingerbread pancake

2 responses

  1. Photobooth worked pretty good. I would like to try this pancake sometime. I want to be transported to a cottage in the snow.

  2. It looks good. Last night I listened to the opera, Hansel and Gretel. They would have enjoyed a gingerbread pancake but only had access to a gingerbread house. The pancake would have saved a lot of lives in that opera.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

