Whole Wheat Cookies

I know, I know, “whole wheat cookies” seems like an oxymoron: I might as well be presenting you with “healthy junk food.” When I first heard of this concept, I was very skeptical and thought whole wheat was better off sticking to its home turf of bread and bagels, not trying to stumble around in the dessert world where it really didn’t belong. That was what my original impression was… but it was so wrong!!!

Chocolate Reece's Chip Apple Whole Wheat cookies

It turns out, whole wheat cookies taste better than cookies made with all-purpose flour. These cookies are nice and chewy, very chocolatey and sweet. I loved the texture, and when my mom tried them she didn’t even know they were whole wheat until I told her. And you don’t have to feel guilty eating them because they are whole wheat.

The original recipe for the whole wheat cookies was simple, just a plain chocolate chip cookie. I added some flavor to it by making them entirely chocolate, and adding Reese’s chips and chopped apple. The flavor combo seems queer, but it tasted awesome!

flavor combo: apple, peanut butter, and chocolate

The basic recipe for the cookies can be found on the Betty Crocker website on this page. My recipe is as follows:

Whole Wheat Wonderland Cookies

(Double chocolate Reece’s chip apple chunk cookies)

Makes 18 cookies

Chocolate Reece's Apple Cookie with Whole Wheat Flour

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup white sugar (I substituted this for 6 packets of Truvia natural sweetener)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 6 tbsps butter, softened
  • 2 tbsps olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg (I substituted with 1/4 cup Egg Beaters. Since I halved the original recipe, I was only supposed to use half an egg, but I forgot  – oops! It worked out okay, though.)
  • 1 tbsp Hershey’s cocoa powder
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • a dash of cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup Reece’s chips
  • about half of a medium-sized Jazz apple, diced

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Spray a cookie sheet with nonstick cooking spray.

In a large bowl, mix sugar, butter, oil, vanilla and egg (or egg substitute.) Add the flour, baking soda, salt, cocoa, and cinnamon. Mix thoroughly. The mixture will be thick.

Add your mix-ins (chocolate chips, Reece’s chips, and apple in this case). Stir.

Place balls of dough onto cookie sheet, leaving some space for them to expand. (I didn’t press them down at all so my cookies are sort of dome-like. I just didn’t want them to come out flat. I’ll have to keep working on just how to shape a cookie.)

Bake for 8-10 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean and edges are crispy. The centers of the cookies will still be soft when they are done.

My brother was watching me as I baked these, and he asked me what I had put in them. I told him they contained chocolate chips, and he said, “junk. But good junk.” When I told him about the chopped apple, he described that as “bad junk.” He said “everything you bake is a mix of good junk and bad junk.” But I’d say all the junk in these particular cookies is truly good junk. Most of it isn’t even junk at all – for example, the Reece’s chips have 3 grams of protein in just one tablespoon.

Reece's chips package

Another health bonus is the whole wheat flour. I was even considering adding oatmeal, but that would probably have been one step too far – they would have tasted too healthy. I like when food is healthy, but it doesn’t always have to taste so blatantly so.

Reece's chip chocolate apple Whole Wheat cookies

At any rate, I hope some readers who are bakers will try making whole wheat cookies. They really are worth making. I will definitely be making more things with whole wheat flour!

You might also like:

Healthy Harmony Cookies

healthy harmony cookie texture

5 responses

  1. I’ve never used whole wheat flour. Maybe it’s time to try it.

  2. I had no idea whole wheat didn’t belong in the dessert world.

  3. Whole wheat flour and I work well together…but those Reece’s chips… yum!!! I think this recipe is a perfect demonstration of healthy, good for you foods working as a treat! Moderation is key….remind me that if I blog about eating a while bag of those Reece’s chips 😉

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

