Mediocre Muffins

I don’t like to be mediocre. I get all A’s in school, I practice violin until I get it right, and I color in all my drawings (yes, I do draw as a hobby) until there are no annoying little white spaces. The same concept applies to my baking: I don’t want anything I bake to be just okay, so-so. I want all who are lucky enough to taste my baked goods to practically faint in amazement, I want to be able to blog about some muffins I made that were sublime, not just sort of acceptable. Unfortunately, I cannot tell a lie: these muffins fall into the latter category.

mediocre muffin: orange blueberry flavor

I’m not sure what it is about them, there’s just something that isn’t quite five-star quality about these muffins. Maybe they could be more interesting? I threw in some oatmeal when I mixed up the batter, but maybe I should have added more because it’s barely noticeable in the texture. The flavor is pretty good, the texture is soft and moist… my mom thinks they don’t taste quite right because I used Truvia. But she loved my whole wheat cookies and pumpkin brownie cheesecake thingy, which both included Truvia. Maybe combining the Truvia with chocolate masks the “strangeness” of it? I have to say, I think it does something to the flavor of these orange blueberry muffins. They are sweet, but maybe not sweet enough.

Truvia natural sweetener packet

I was very frustrated that these muffins are just mediocre, because I actually tried to make the recipe twice. That’s right, folks: America’s most fanatical never-do-the-same-thing-again baker has retried a recipe on the same day that it flopped! The first time I made this yesterday I used solely Truvia and no real sugar, so it was not sweet at all. In addition, since I replaced the orange juice called for in the original recipe with more docile mango juice the mango flavor was not detectable and the muffins kind of had no flavor. So I used orange juice the second time, added some real sugar along with the Truvia… and my result was sort of better than before. But still only mediocre.

I’m going to post my recipe, just in the hopes that someone can come up with an idea of how to make this okay recipe stellar. If anyone out there has an idea, and/or tries themselves to make this recipe differently and gets a different result, please feel free to post the changes made in the comments.

Mediocre Muffin Recipe for Blueberry Orange Muffins

Makes 12 regular-sized muffins

mediocre muffin: blueberry orange

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 16 packets Truvia natural sweetener
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 packet Open Nature brand Vanilla Almond flavor instant oatmeal
  • 1 Chobani brand Greek yogurt, Blood Orange flavor
  • 1 tbsp orange zest (called for in original recipe. I did not use this.)
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 2 eggs (I used 1/4 cup Egg beaters and one egg, since that was all the egg matter we had in the house.)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 3/4 cup fresh blueberries

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Grease a muffin tin with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients and mix. Add wet ingredients and mix well, but do not overmix. Batter will seem wet and thin (at least, it was like that when I did this.) Fold in blueberries.

Spoon batter into prepared muffin tin, trying not to splash it all over the place like I did 🙂 Bake in the preheated oven for 15-20 minutes.

Don’t you just hate when you put a lot of time into baking something, have your hopes rise up and up as the warm oven fills the house with a delicious aroma, and then feel your hopes crash to the floor again as you take a bite and it doesn’t taste as awesome as it smells? My baked stuff always smells so good… but the scent is often deceiving.

Again, if anyone has any ideas, please leave a comment!

3 responses

  1. What generally makes muffins exceptional is some kind of fat in the batter, such as butter or oil. That makes them moist and butter of course gives it a great flavor. This is the reason that low-calorie baked goods are usually (in my opinion) not as tasty.

  2. P.S. I would eat these muffins anyway, with butter on them!

    1. Good idea. Maybe I could use peanut butter, or regular butter. Earth Balance has been on our grocery list for like a month now!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

