Chocolate Fruit Cookie Dough Smoothie

chocolate cookie dough fruit smoothie

Our home is currently being invaded by ants. I don’t know why they think it’s ant season now, but they’re marching dutifully throughout all the rooms in our house. My parents use 409 spray liberally to dispose of the tiny creatures. I don’t normally kill ants or any other bug, although I’m creeped out by finding creepy-crawlies in my home. It’s just my policy to not kill living animals, as a rule. I did, at the suggestion of my mom, spray and kill one ant this morning, however. My heart went out to the poor thing… I’m just too soft to kill ants! I let the other two I’d seen skitter away. Sometimes I think it’s unfair that we humans decide certain animals are gross or inconvenient to our comfortable lives, so we shamelessly kill them. But at the same time, ants are vermin, they’d eat all our food and crawl all over us (eugggh!) if we just let them go about their business in our homes. They really should, for their own sake and ours, just stick to gathering what they can find outside. That way no one gets hurt/feels guilty.

This morning I found solace from the ant situation in the form of a cold, chocolatey smoothie. The texture of this smoothie was perfect, not too thick or thin. The taste was perfect and intricate, mostly chocolate with a layer of fruit underneath, and of course some cookie dough to add to the interest level. YES it had chocolate cookie dough in it and YES I had it in the morning. The cookie dough is vegan so that makes it healthy, right? 🙂

But seriously, this smoothie has so many health benefits to it I didn’t have to feel guilty adding the cookie dough. The almondmilk delivers vitamins, minerals, calcium, even an extra gram of fiber for good measure. And the greek frozen yogurt is of course a source of protein. The cookie dough isn’t unhealthy, it just doesn’t exactly add much in the way of health benefits.

So what are you waiting for? Go ahead and indulge in this

Chocolate Fruit Cookie Dough Smoothie

chocolate fruit cookie dough smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 10 grapes
  • 1 single serve container Silk brand dark chocolate flavor almondmilk
  • 1 Yasso brand blueberry Greek frozen yogurt bar (I do not recommend eating this plain; it’s kind of tasteless in my opinion. But in the smoothie it was great!)
  • 1/4 cup Eat Pastry brand chocoholic chip vegan cookie dough

Directions:

Place banana, grapes, almondmilk, and frozen yogurt bar in blender. (The frozen yogurt bar was kind of hard for me to get off the stick; I had to use a knife and eventually my fingers to pry that stubborn wooden stick out of the bar. It may pay off to thaw the bar for one minute before trying to get the stick out, I suppose.) Blend these ingredients for a minute or so. Then add the cookie dough in several clumps. Blend for one or two seconds, then stop blending immediately and Pour smoothie into desired glass. (I used a mug.)

Enjoy!

Cookie dough fruit and chocolate smoothie

Come to think of it, this is a smoothie those ants would probably like. It’s got sweet chocolate and fruit. I bet they’re jealous. Eat your heart out, ants! (Well, drink your heart out.)

3 responses

  1. I don’t think you mind if someone else kills the ants, though.

  2. I saved a little gnat today. I like how there are exactly 10 grapes in this recipe.

    1. It was the optimal amount to be good but not too grape-y!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

