Chocolate Cinnavanilla Thin Mint Smoothie

chocolate vanilla cinnamon thin mint smoothie

It’s that time of year again… Girl Scout Cookie Season! You can barely walk out of the house without being asked by some cute child with soulful eyes to buy a box of cookies. And it’s nearly impossible to refuse.

It becomes a little more obnoxious and less cute when the cute child is swapped out with a pushy adult family member who wants her Girl Scout to get the most sales in her troop and “helps” by selling cookies without the child even being there. I’ve never been a Girl Scout, so I don’t know if this is allowed or not, but it certainly is annoying to my mom when some lady predictably badgers her into buying Girl Scout cookies, no matter how many times she tries to decline the offer. Last year, my mom came home with a box of lemon cookies of some kind, and nobody touched them. But this year is quite different…

My mom got a box of Thin Mints from the badgering lady this time around. Those cookies are the most popular Girl Scout Cookie ever, and I can see why. The crunchy chocolate mint cookie is covered with a smooth chocolate coating… what’s not to like? Personally, I tend to prefer something a little more interesting like a Samoa with all those different flavors, but that doesn’t stop me from liking the simple, classic Thin Mints too. That said, I was kind of concerned I wouldn’t get my share when I saw the rate at which the male half of my family was consuming those cookies last night. My brother had a reasonable portion for dessert, and my dad kept sneaking into the kitchen to grab a handful. And another. And another. I know what happens to boxes of Oreos when my dad knows we have them in the house. I’ve heard my brother lamenting a box too new to be empty enough times to be well aware of the predation faced by cookies in our pantry. And I did not want my dad eating all the Thin Mints before I got a chance to use them in a smoothie shake I was planning.

So I craftily pinched four from those remaining in the box last night while my dad was watching t.v. and hid them in the cupboard. Those were my cookies, and I was determined they would be safe from cookie thieves! Today I was relieved to find them still intact where I left them, and proceeded to make this smoothie shake.

chocolate cinnavanilla smoothie with thin mints

I call it a smoothie shake because it is both a smoothie and a shake. It is technically healthy enough to be a smoothie, what with the banana, almondmilk, and high-calcium pudding. Yet it seems to be a indulgent as a shake, with the chocolate vanilla cinnamon flavor and of course the crunchy Thin Mint pieces. I put green apple in the smoothie, but could hardly taste it at all.

The liquid part of this smoothie was incredibly boring at first, but I added a pinch of cinnamon and mixed it in with my spoon and it literally transformed the flavor from “eh” to “oooh!” So I say add cinnamon and maybe some nutmeg too.

Chocolate Cinnavanilla Thin Mint Smoothie

cinnavanilla chocolate thin mint smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • a little less than half of 1 Granny Smith apple
  • 1 Silk brand single-serve carton of vanilla almondmilk
  • 1 Snack Pack brand pudding cup, cinnamon roll flavor
  • 1 tbsp Hershey’s cocoa powder
  • 5-6 ice cubes
  • 4 Thin Mints
  • a pinch or so of cinnamon

Directions:

Pour all ingredients in blender except Thin Mints. (The cinnamon can be added before or after blending, it’s your choice.) Blend for a minute or until ice is crushed. Add Thin Mints, breaking some in half, some into quarters. Blend for just a few more seconds. Pour into a glass and enjoy this unconventional way of consuming Girl Scout Cookies!

smoothie with chocolate thin mint cinnamon and vanilla

This post was published in the Santa Monica Observer newspaper the week of February 21, 2013. The Observer website is www.smobserved.com.

You Might Also Like:

Brownies of the Season

thin mint brownies flourless chocolate

8 responses

  1. i am sure going to try this one out 🙂 You have me craving for it right now 🙂

  2. “the predation faced by cookies in our pantry…” LOLOLOLOL!!!!!

  3. The smoothie sounds good. I bought the lemon cookies, though (I like them).

    1. To each his own, I suppose. Those just don’t interest me as much as Samoas or Thin Mints.

  4. Hi there. The current Food on Friday on Carole’s Chatter is collecting links to posts about shakes and smoothies. I do hope you link this lovely one in. This is the link . Please do pop back to check out some of the other links – there are a lot of good ones already. Have a great week.

  5. thank you for linking this in to Food on Friday. We have got a super collection of shakes and smoothies together. I hope you have stopped by some of the other links to check them out!

    Ps I have just signed up to follow your blog. A follow back to Carole’s Chatter would be wonderful – or have you already followed? Cheers

    Ps If you would like email reminders of future Food on Fridays, just pop by and comment and include your email – I won’t publish it – and the reminder will be by bcc so it will remain private

  6. There’s nothing wrong with a Thin Mint, I always say 🙂
    (I found you through Carole’s Chatter.)

  7. jalal michael sabbagh.://gravatar.com.jmsabbagh86@gmail.com | Reply

    Very healthy post.Thank you for liking my post (Vows…)best regards.jalal

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

