Oatmeal Almond Butter Awesomeness Muffins

If you know me, you know my weekend isn’t complete unless I get to bake something that’s both delicious and nutritious. This time around, I decided to try a new muffin recipe, complete with oats, whole wheat flour, and Greek yogurt. Each one is lovingly topped with sublime dark chocolate almond butter, which swirls down some into the batter as it bakes to add a melty, hot-fudge – like accent to each bite.

cinnamon oatmeal muffin with dark chocolate almond butter

Pure heaven, as you can see.

texture of oatmeal dark chocolate almond butter muffin

As I was shopping at the grocery store for the ingredients for these muffins, I met an older lady in a wheelchair who wanted to know where she could find almond butter. She told me, “Doctor Oz says it’s even healthier than peanut butter.” When we located the nut butters aisle, she saw Peanut Butter and Co. chocolate peanut butter blend, an old favorite of mine. I recommended it to her, saying I’ve tried it and it’s very good. She smiled and said, “well, you’re young. You don’t have to worry about health like I do.” But that’s not true. Everyone can and should be health-concious, and starting young can help prevent health problems later in life. It’s in that spirit that I present you with this recipe. The muffins are both angelically healthy, and sinfully good!

I should note that Peanut Butter and Co. dark chocolate peanut butter is perfectly healthy. However, in honor of my new friend at the grocery store I have used almond butter in these muffins. I’m sure Doctor Oz would be proud!

Oatmeal Almond Butter Awesomeness Muffins

Makes 12 regular-sized muffins

inspired by Self-Frosting Pumpkin Nutella Cupcakes on 52 Kitchen Adventures

muffins with oatmeal and dark chocolate almond butter

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbls Egg Beaters Egg Substitute (or one egg)
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 packets Cinnamon and Spice flavored instant oatmeal (use whatever brand you prefer)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsps baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • a dash of cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 container Greek yogurt, black cherry flavor (I used Yoplait Greek yogurt)
  • 2 squares Ghiradelli Intense Dark Sea Salt Soiree chocolate (found in the baking aisle)
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate almond butter (I used Maranatha brand)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. Line a muffin tin with 12 paper muffin cups, or spray with nonstick cooking spray.

In a large bowl, combine flours, oatmeal, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Then add the Egg Beaters (or egg), milk, olive oil, Greek yogurt, and vanilla extract. Mix ingredients just until blended. (Some people mix the wet ingredients in a separate bowl and then add to the dry, but I’m too impatient for that and my muffins always turn out fine only using one bowl.) Break the chocolate squares into bits and drop into bowl. Fold chocolate into the batter.

Spoon the batter into the muffin cups, filling each about 3/4 full. Here comes the fun part: adding the almond butter! Use a knife to place globs of about a teaspoon of almond butter on each muffin. Then swirl into batter slightly with the knife. I found that Maranatha brand almond butter had such a loose consistency to begin with that I did not need to microwave it first; other brands might require this to make them easier to spread over muffin batter.

Bake in the preheated oven for 10-15 minutes. Serve warm!

cinnamon oat dark chocolate almond butter muffin

One response

  1. I like the treasured data you supply within your content pieces.I’ll bookmark your site and check out again the following often.I am somewhat certain I’ll know lots of recent things most suitable the following! Superior luck for your upcoming!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

