To Each His Own

You’ll catch me using that phrase quite a bit. I often can’t understand why anyone wouldn’t like the things I adore, such as chocolate and country music. Likewise, I can’t see how anyone would like things I find absolutely repulsive, such as corn and violent cartoons. But I do respect others’ opinions, because we are all different and everyone has their own taste. This concept can also be applied to America’s eating disorder epidemic: just because around here people seem to think skeletal, starved girls and women are attractive doesn’t mean that’s the absolute, inarguable truth. Maybe girls who suffer from anorexia should be sent on exchange trips to parts of the world where it’s trendy to carry some flesh on your bones, such as the Middle East.

But I’m not here today to rant about eating disorders. The point of this post is, everyone truly has their own way of seeing the world, everyone has their unique likes and dislikes. For example, the cinnamon rolls I tried to make this evening were perceived differently by each taste-tester.

My mom was at Souplantation with my brother, who needed to eat at 5:30 because he eats breakfast at noon and doesn’t eat lunch on vacation days. My dad and I planned to just scrounge around the house for dinner. I really wanted to bake something for breakfast tomorrow morning, since we’re almost out of the Oatmeal Almond Butter Awesomeness Muffins I made the other day. I had my heart set on some cinnamon rolls. I found a recipe for no-yeast cinnamon rolls, which I thought I’d throw together really fast and then eat my dinner. Well. The first time I put together the dough, I realized after rolling it out that I had left out the baking powder. So I had to scrap that particular batch of dough, and try again. This time I was really in a hurry because I thought I wouldn’t have time to finish. So I accidentally flipped the piece of paper with my scribbled notes for the recipe to the backside, where I had notes for a different recipe. I didn’t notice it was the wrong recipe, and used the 1 tsp baking soda indicated for that recipe, instead of the 1 tablespoon of baking powder required to make my cinnamon rolls rise.

So I put them in the oven, after just having realized this and expecting the batch to be a total failure. At least it smelled good.

My mom and my brother, Sam, walked in the door a few minutes after I gloomily took the finished cinnamon rolls out of the oven. They looked more like cookies than rolls. My brother said, “it smells really good in here.” I replied, “well, it probably doesn’t taste very good.” I explained the mistake I’d made with the baking soda. My brother insisted upon trying one of the cinnamon cookies anyway. I was shocked since he NEVER tries anything I make (with the exception of a certain banana Nutella brownie recipe I made several months ago.) He said it was very good, his only constructive criticism being that the dough needed to be a little sweeter.

My mom and dad both tried the cinnamon cookies as well. My mom agreed they could be sweeter. My dad made no comment, but ate the whole thing, which I guess is a sign he liked it? At least sort of liked it?

So I had breakfast for dinner: my French toast grilled cheese as I’ve made before, this time with Muenster cheese:

muenster french toast grilled cheese

And as a treat, I tried one of my cinnamon roll-turned-cookies with some banana on the side for good measure:

cinnamon cookie roll

Personally, I didn’t care for it at all. It obviously had the wrong texture if it was trying to be a cinnamon roll, the dough tasted like one of those salty baked pretzels, the filling was way too sparse, I had added chocolate chips but there weren’t nearly enough of them… honestly, I didn’t like any aspect of these cinnamon rolls. I will have to try again and do it right next time: use the right amount of baking powder, not baking soda, add more sugar and filling. Now I know.

Is it even worth sharing the recipe? Well, I guess to each his own (or her own.) Someone might like it. Oh, all right, what the heck, I’ll post the recipe.

Salty Cinnamon Roll Cookies That Have Barely Any Filling

Makes 13-15 mini cinnamon cookie-roll-whatevers

Adapted from this recipe

cinnamon roll turned cookie

Ingredients:

for dough

  • 1 packet regular flavor instant oatmeal plus enough all-purpose flour that together the oatmeal and the flour equal 2 cups
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 6 tbls Earth Balance original buttery spread
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips

for filling

  • 2 tbls Maranatha brand dark chocolate almond butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • a little less than a tablespoon of cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. Spray a cookie sheet with nonstick spray.

Mix dry dough ingredients together in a large bowl. Cut in Earth Balance. Add milk until dough is soft, do not over mix. Fold in chocolate chips.

Press dough onto cookie sheet and form a rectangle about an inch thick. Spread melted almond butter on top of the rectangle. Sprinkle brown sugar and cinnamon on top of almond butter.

Roll up rectangle. Cut off ends if desired. Cut into round slices about one inch thick.

Bake in the preheated oven for 7-8 minutes or until edges are golden. Hope you like it, ’cause I sure didn’t! But again… to each his own!

One response

  1. Please let us know how the next batch of cinnamon rolls comes out!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

