Lunch Liberation! Friday: Cinnamon – Toastwich

lunch liberation: Friday Cinnamon toastwich

So, here ends my first week ever of posting daily! It was easier than I expected. I don’t know how regularly I will be posting in the future, but I will try not to limit posting to the weekend because I miss posting during the mundane school week!

Now, for today’s non-boring lunch idea. Honestly, I was feeling really uninspired on Thursday night, racking my brain and the kitchen for something, anything to make that I didn’t make yet this week. I was too close to the end of my faithful week of posting lunch recipes to blow it off now. So I came up with this random idea to make a cinnamon toast sandwich.

I have nothing against crispy, warm cinnamon toast in the morning. But I was very dubious about having it at school, at room temperature. In fact, after I made this cinnamon – toastwich I started to panic and wanted to start over and make something else, even something boring. Because how lame would it be to post, as the grand finale to Lunch Liberation, a recipe that tastes bad? But I couldn’t think of anything else to make, so I resolved to figure it out in the morning.

In the morning, I decided to be brave and give this cinnamon – toastwich a try. After all, it could be good, right? I only made a minor revision: I added blueberry jam to help the pieces of toast hold together in my brown bag on the way to school.

At lunch, I opened my lunch bag, hoping the sandwich would at least be okay. I took a bite and – aaah! It was totally delicious, not just almost as good as a warm plate of cinnamon toast but simply in a category of its own. In fact, it might be in some ways better, because the cinnamon and sugar had had time to coalesce with the buttery Earth Balance spread and become one sweet, yummy substance. The blueberry jam set off the different flavors and added more to the whole thing. And the toasted bread remained nice and crispy even though I toasted it quite a while before eating.

Lunch Liberation! Friday: Cinnamon Toast blueberry jam sandwich

Come on, do I really need to be convincing anyone to eat cinnamon toast? I don’t think it’s any secret that this tastes good. And apparently it’s even good at room temperature in sandwich form!

Cinnamon – Toastwich

Makes 1 sandwich

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices whole wheat bread
  • 1 tbl Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread
  • 1 tbl brown sugar
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1 tbl blueberry jam (I used St. Dalfour’s brand organic blueberry jam)

Directions:

Lightly toast bread. Then, spread the Earth Balance evenly on each slice, and sprinkle the sugar evenly on top. Add a dash of cinnamon to each slice.

cinnamon toast for sandwich Lunch Liberation: Friday

Add blueberry jam the next morning, as I did, or just add it immediately. I don’t think it will make a difference when jam is added.

Enjoy! And happy weekend!

To see Thursday’s Lunch Liberation! post, click here.

You Might Also Like:

Whole Wheat Chocolate Blueberry Hazelnut Hamentashen

IMG_4471close up chocolate whole wheat blueberry hazelnut hamentashen

2 responses

  1. Yum! Looks awesome, I love cinnamon on just about anything.. 🙂

  2. It might be good with peanut butter, too.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

