Berry Cheesecake Smoothie With Frosted Toast Crunch

blueberry strawberry frosted toast crunch cheesecake smoothie

Let’s admit it: sometimes eating healthy can be a bit of a drag. You have to make some sacrifices to take care of your body, which can be hard for people. I actually tend to prefer healthy foods over unhealthy foods most of the time: for example, I’ll willingly choose yogurt raisins over m’n’ms any day. But sometimes arranging my meals and buying healthy products feels like it conflicts with my ability to enjoy what I eat.

Take yesterday evening, for example: I was at Whole Foods with my mom getting dinner to go, and I’d planned to also buy something to use as filling for the single serve crepe I was planning. I went to the jams and jellies aisle and scanned the items for something that looked good. It’s Whole Foods so that makes everything there automatically healthy, right? Nope. Not at all. Sure, there may be less artificial ingredients, but I picked up quite a few items that had no real nutritional benefits. Maple syrup: too many calories, no positive nutrients. Jelly: too sugary. So if you would otherwise be eating maple syrup or jelly from the supermarket, with all the fake ingredients and additives, and are considering a Whole Foods product as an alternative the lesser of two evils is the Whole Foods product because it is organic. But I wanted to have something that was actually good for me, so I chose pumpkin butter. My crepe ended up tasting good. But that frustrating experience in Whole Foods left me with a need to rebel…

So I did, in a small but effective way, with this cheesecake smoothie. I added 1/2 cup of Frosted Toast Crunch, regardless of all the artificial flavors in it. And the smoothie was great! It tasted just like a delicious blueberry strawberry cheesecake with a crunchy cinnamon crust. And I don’t have to feel too bad about the Frosted Toast Crunch cereal: after all, it has whole grains! 🙂

That’s really a lot of what this blog is about: finding a way to balance healthy eating with happy eating. Enjoy!

Berry Cheesecake Smoothie with Frosted Toast Crunch

frosted toast crunch berry cheesecake smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 4 or so fresh strawberries
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 blueberry Greek yogurt
  • 2 Laughing Cow brand creamy swiss cheese wedges
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • dash cinnamon
  • 5-6 ice cubes
  • 1/2 cup Frosted Toast Crunch cereal

Directions:

Blend all ingredients except cereal for a couple minutes. Add some of the cereal and blend a few seconds. Pour into a large glass. Top with remaining cereal.

One response

  1. Balance is always good!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

