As Seen in My Dream: Chocolate Banana Peanut Butter Honey Muffins

chocolate banana peanut butter honey muffin from dream

A couple weeks ago, I had a dream that haunted me ever since. In it, my mom effusively praised my baking skills after I baked a cake. She told me, “you inherited your baking talent from your father.” (FYI: my father is rarely noted to have baked even a potato. But in the dream, strangely, this was a great compliment.) Then, my mom in the dream immediately gave me a baking suggestion: she wanted me to bake chocolate muffins with peanut butter and honey.

Once I woke up, I couldn’t forget that assignment from my mom – even though it wasn’t really my mom. I did tell my mom (in the real world) what she’d told me to bake in the dream and she said it sounded yummy. So I set my mind to baking these muffins, following the dream’s instructions almost to the letter: they are just as seen in my dream. The only change I made is the addition of banana. I had to make them a little healthy – after all, this is a health blog! So they aren’t your typical fattening chocolate muffin from a coffee shop… they’re all-around better. I also used Truvia baking blend instead of sugar, and replaced some of the butter called for in the recipe with pumpkin butter (no it does not taste like pumpkin.) Half the flour in this recipe is whole wheat. But prepare to be shocked: there is no oatmeal this time around! 🙂

mom's dream muffin: banana peanut butter honey chocolate

When my mom tried one, she said this recipe was “a keeper.” I was actually having trouble believing they’d turn out, since my past few attempts at baking have been fails. But I tried one and it was spectacular! Moist, chocolatey, with chocolate chips in the batter and melty chocolate chunks on top. Filled with a smooth homemade blend of peanut butter and honey. Delish! The only complaint I had is that there could have been more peanut butter, so maybe next time I would use that instead of the Earth Balance butter, or just make twice as much peanut butter honey filling.

Chocolate Banana Muffins with Peanut Butter Honey Filling

Makes 12 regular sized muffins

muffin from dream: peanut butter honey chocolate banana

Ingredients:

for muffin batter

  • 3 tbl Egg Beaters (or one egg)
  • 3 tbl Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread
  • 2 tbls + 1 tsp pumpkin butter
  • 3 large bananas
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 6 tbls Truvia baking blend
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 Yoplait brand chocolate mousse style yogurt
  • 2 tbl Hershey’s cocoa
  • 2 tbl semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 bar Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate, chopped into chunks

for peanut butter honey filling

  • 1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 3 tsps honey

Directions:

First, make the filling by combining the peanut butter and honey in a small bowl. Mix just until blended. Set this aside.

Now, preheat oven to 350 Fahrenheit and line a muffin tin with twelve paper liners (or spray with nonstick cooking spray.)

In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Stir this mixture.

In another large bowl, combine the bananas, Truvia baking blend, Egg Beaters, and chocolate yogurt. Use an electric mixer to blend this mixture. Then, add it to the dry ingredients. Mix just until combined but be careful not to overmix. This is the determining factor between good and bad muffins. Gently fold in chocolate chips.

Pour muffin batter into muffin cups, reserving some of the batter and filling each only about 1/3 to 1/2 full. Now fill each muffin with a portion of the peanut butter honey filling. Try to distribute it evenly. Cover the filling with the rest of the muffin batter.

Bake muffins in the 350 Fahrenheit oven for about ten minutes, or until it looks like they are 2-5 minutes away from being done. Then, remove from oven but leave the oven on. Sprinkle the chocolate chunks from the Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate bar on top of each muffin. Return to oven to bake for another 2-5 minutes. (If you don’t want chocolate chunks on top you could just mix them into the batter and skip this step, but I thought it was cool and added texture. I’m all about texture in food and smoothies!)

Serve warm or room temperature – both are great!

chocolate banana peanut butter honey muffin as seen in my dream

as seen in my dream: chocolate banana peanut butter honey muffin

By the way: I vowed in my post To Each His Own that I would eventually succeed at making no-yeast cinnamon rolls, and post the recipe. I have not forgotten that goal. In fact, I tried to make some cinnamon rolls last week but the dough was so unworkable I just had to throw it out. This is a frustrating challenge, but that will make success even sweeter! And I will not give up on this hope for success…though it might not happen for a while. Keep rooting for me!

Recipe credits: I got the main recipe from Allrecipes.com. The concept of adding chocolate on top of the muffins was inspired by Dashing Dish. And the all-important homemade peanut butter honey blend recipe was provided by Herbsspices.about.com. Thank you all. I couldn’t have fulfilled my dreams without you guys – literally!

You Might Also Like:

Choc-Oat Delight Muffins

choc-oat delight

5 responses

  1. Usually my dreams are full of nonsense. You’re lucky to have had such a practical one!

    1. Well, it was semi-practical… at least I didn’t dream about algebra!

  2. Sounds decadently delicious

  3. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com | Reply

    It looks so good.We will try the recipe.Thank you for liking my post (sharing ….).have a beautiful day.jalal

  4. Great combination – do you post them out? ;))). Thanks for stopping by ‘tasteandlight’. Rob.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

