Honey Walnut Butter and Banana Sandwich

I know what you’re thinking: yet another sandwich recipe? I have posted quite a few sandwich ideas recently, as alternatives to the boring pb &j or cheese sandwiches many people slap together for a quick brown bag lunch. The truth is, I would love to make pastas, salads, pasta salads, etc. for lunch, but I just haven’t had the time to put together all those ingredients. Of course, I used to think I didn’t have time to create a more interesting sandwich, and I proved myself wrong through the “Lunch Liberation!” posts. So maybe someday I’ll be able to make a salad to bring to school with tons of special, fresh ingredients. But for now I tend to stick to sandwiches. Still, I try to have something different every day as much as possible.

This sandwich was very good, and sort of reminds me of breakfast-y foods, which I love because breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. Who could debate the fact that breakfast foods simply taste better than foods for any other meal? I’d like to eat breakfast all day long. I used to eat Post brand banana nut crunch cereal (before my grocery store stopped selling it 😦  ), so the bananas and walnuts together is a winner in my book. And the sandwich is on toasted bread, to enhance the texture and make it even more breakfast-esque.

The concept for the honey-walnut-butter combo is inspired by Feed Me, Seymour’s honey walnut butter. I saw this recipe one day, and it looked delicious. I didn’t use the original recipe for the spread I made, but I incorporated the flavor combo into a wholesome, relatively quick to make lunch.

Honey Walnut Butter and Banana Sandwich

makes one sandwich

banana honey walnut butter sandwich

Ingredients:

  • two slices whole wheat bread, toasted
  • about 1 tbl Earth Balance original buttery spread
  • 1 tsp honey
  • walnuts, 1 tbl or to taste
  • 1/2 banana, sliced

Directions: Microwave the butter just a little to soften it, but do not melt it. Using a spoon, blend the honey into the butter. Spread this blend on one piece of the toasted bread. Sprinkle walnuts on top. Place banana slices on top of the walnuts. Top with the remaining slice of toast.

You Might Also Like:

Lunch Liberation! Tuesday: Fruit and Cheese Bagels with Honey

fruit and cheese bagels with honey

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

