Matzah Brei

Two things about Passover REALLY get on my nerves:

1) Why does everybody think you’re supposed to spell “matzah” with an o? It isn’t pronounced like “MAH- tzoh”, is it? It’s actually a Hebrew word so there is no correct English spelling, but I don’t think it’s correct to put an o there. Still, even my computer is against me and puts that red underline under all my “matzah”s but none of my “matzo”s.

2) This annoyance is more serious – during Passover, it’s hard to find healthy choices to eat for breakfast. They sell kosher-for-Passover cereal, but it tastes like styrofoam. My mom makes cake mixes, but I wouldn’t exactly consider cake for breakfast healthy. Some people try to make kosher-for-Passover versions of foods they would normally eat, such as pancakes, but I learned from experience yesterday that this simply doesn’t work.

rice flour pancake

Above is my rice flour pancake. It tasted worse than it looks, which is saying a lot since it’s no top model. And later on that day, I tried out a recipe for kosher-for-Passover donuts. They turned out to be unappetizing little rolls that look nothing like donuts. My mom said they tasted okay, but I was too prejudiced about them based on their looks and did not risk trying one.

I have learned my lesson: trying to convert non-kosher-for-Passover food into Passover food is just a waste of time. You just can’t have pancakes and donuts during these eight days.

But this problem has a positive flip-side: since you can’t eat many of the traditional, everyday breakfast foods, you have a chance to discover (or rediscover) unusual dishes. For example, this morning was the first time I tried to make matzah brei, and it was delicious! Not just less bad than my alternatives, but actually so good I might want to make it again even after Passover is over. I recommend this to anyone who wants a different type of breakfast, even if you aren’t celebrating Passover.

I’ve heard of people making savory matzah brei, but mine was made with honey and vanilla to give it a homey sweetness. I topped it with raspberries for extra fiber and flavor! Here is the super-easy recipe:

Sweet Matzah Brei

based on this recipe

Makes one serving

matzah brei with raspberries

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 sheets regular matzah (I would have used whole wheat to be even healthier but we didn’t have any 😦 )
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1-2 tbls honey
  • optional: raspberries for topping

Directions:

In a smallish medium bowl, whisk together the egg, milk, cinnamon, vanilla, and honey. Break up the matzah into bite-sized pieces and place it in the bowl with the wet ingredients. Let it soak for five minutes.

Spray a nonstick pan with cooking spray. Place the matzah-egg mixture on the pan (I actually tried to avoid getting too much egg on there for fear of ending up with a honey-flavored omelette, so maybe my dish was more like matzah farfel, a less wet but similar Passover dish. Oh, well.) Cook until egg is cooked through and matzah is lightly golden.

If desired, top with a sprinkle of additional cinnamon and some raspberries. Serve warm.

raspberry and honey matzah brei

2 responses

  1. I think you’re right about trying to make nonkosher le pesach food. It just doesn’t work. Though your “donuts” were very, very good. Crunchy nuts amid doughy matzah meal substrate. Yum!

  2. I love matzah brei!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

