Chocolate Pomegranate Cookie Dough Smoothie

I had to use up some of my leftover gluten-free cookie dough from those flourless cupcakes I made the other day. So, predictably, I blended it into a smoothie. But for me, the highlight of this smoothie wasn’t really the cookie dough. It was the combination of chocolate and pomegranate. Tart and sweet, fruity and indulgent… it must be a match made in heaven. I can’t believe I’ve never tried this combination before!

Not to get all religious-school-teacher on you guys, but I’d like to point out that pomegranate is sort of a symbolic food to eat for the holiday of Passover because according to Jewish folklore, the pomegranate has 613 seeds, the same number as the ten commandments. Or, more accurately, the unabridged commandments which number 613. But I guess they couldn’t all fit on two tablets, so only the top ten became popular.

Here’s a commandment from me to you: thou shalt drink a pomegranate chocolate smoothie! You’ll be glad you did!

Chocolate Pomegranate Cookie Dough Smoothie

pomegranate chocolate cookie dough smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 Chobani brand Greek pomegranate flavor yogurt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbl pure cocoa powder
  • ice cubes to taste (we just got a new ice cube tray and I’m in an adjustment period – I can’t figure out how many of these different-sized ice cubes I should use!)
  • 1/4 cup Eat Pastry brand vegan gluten-free cookie dough

Directions:

In blender, blend all ingredients except cookie dough until smooth. Add cookie dough and blend until desired consistency is reached (I like it in larger glops throughout the smoothie so I don’t blend very long.)

Oh, and by the way, here’s an update about those flourless cupcakes: I’ve decided the cherries in them are actually okay, sort of a nice surprise in the middle of all that chocolate. I scorned my addition of cherries before, but now I’ve acquired a taste for them as I’ve eaten a few more of my cupcakes.

You Might Also Like:

Haroset Smoothie

haroset smoothie

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

