“Cherry Garcia” Fro-Yo in a Blender! No Ice Cream Maker Necessary

Happy Easter to everybody! Aren’t you glad spring is finally (sort of) here? Actually today it was really foggy and raining where I live. Not the best weather for egg hunts. But once the rain cleared up, I saw  a small group of parents in the neighborhood with a couple little girls wearing dress-up clothes and hunting for eggs on this one strip of grass in front of their apartment building. Though they only had about 15 square feet of area to search, they took their quest very seriously and screamed excitedly every time they found something: “I found gold! I found gold in these bushes!” A likely story. Ah, to be five years old again and have a super-active imagination…

Here’s a semi-imaginative, super-easy dessert recipe, as my Easter gift to you. It makes one serving, but feel free to make more if you wish to serve this to friends and family.

instant Cherry Garcia soft serve fro-yo in a blender

As spring is coming (I hope) I decided to celebrate with a fruity, cold treat. I have made frozen yogurt in the blender before using this recipe from Happy, Healthy and Whole. The first time I did this, I came up with my own flavor combo. This time, I was less creative and copied one that Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream popularized: Cherry Garcia. Cherry ice cream with chocolate chunks, except I healthified it by making it frozen yogurt, and used chocolate chips because that’s what I had on hand. I assure you my frozen soft-serve has much more actual fruit than the Ben & Jerry’s alternative (is there even any real fruit in there?) That’s why mine has this dramatic, deep red color, not the shy pink of the Ben & Jerry’s ice cream.

frozen soft-serve in a blender: Cherry Garcia

See, this is both a healthy treat and a fashion statement!

Cherry Garcia Soft Serve Frozen Yogurt

based on this recipe

serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup frozen sweet dark cherries
  • 2 tbls plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 tbl pure maple syrup
  • semisweet chocolate chips, to taste (I used about 1 tbl)

Directions: Place the cherries, yogurt and maple syrup in the blender. Blend until there are only a few chunks of cherries left and most of the mixture is homogenous. I needed to blend for less than a minute.

Scoop the soft-serve into a small bowl. Top with chocolate chips. I recommend storing the fro-yo in the freezer a few minutes so it gets even colder.

Serve cold and savor the sweetness!

Cherry Garcia fro-yo in a blender!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

