Pita Pizza with Cheese, Avocado and Mango

pita pizza with cheddar, avocado, and mango

Every Saturday, my brother has a tradition of ordering pizza from Domino’s. I’m not much of a pizza person, and it’s not very healthy, so I never snag a slice. But I am interested in experimenting with different kinds of foods, and trying to make healthy versions of things like pizza. So for lunch today, I decided to make my own personal-sized “pizza.” Instead of going through the trouble of making a crust, I used a whole wheat pita round. Call me a health nut, but I actually thought it tasted better than the puffy pizza crust usually found on take-out pizza like Domino’s.

I’ve heard of people topping pizza with pineapple before, so I thought I’d do that. But there was no pineapple at my grocery store today, so I settled for mango. It tasted good, not in a usual way, but kind of in a weird way. Don’t get me wrong, it didn’t taste weird, just good in a weird way. The crunchy mango contrasted with soft avocado and melted cheese in an interesting blend of flavors.

Pita Pizza with Cheese, Avocado, and Mango

Makes one serving

pita pizza with avocado and mango and 4-state cheddar cheese

Ingredients:

  • one whole wheat pita round
  • 1/4 cup Sargento brand 4-state cheddar shredded cheese
  • 1/4 of an avocado, cut into slices or chunks or whatever – I cut mine free-form style!
  • 4 small slices mango, chopped into smaller chunks

Directions:

Spread cheese over pita as evenly as possible. Microwave pita with cheese on until cheese is melted. (This took 33 seconds in my microwave – just keep checking until it is done.)

Distribute avocado pieces and mango on top of the cheese and microwave for another ten seconds or so.

Before…

spread cheese on top of pita

After…

melt cheese/add avocado and mango

Now your pizza is ready to devour – enjoy!

You Might Also Like:

Two New Lunch Ideas: Savory & Sweet

pizza pita sandwich

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

