Weekday Breakfasts, Updated! Wednesday: Make-Ahead Egg and Cheese Quesadilla

egg and cheese make-ahead quesadilla (weekday breakfasts, updated wednesday)

STRESS – I finally know what the word means. I don’t know if I’ve ever been as stressed in my life as I was today at the end of school. I had begun the day in my chemistry classroom, taking a CST, California Standard Test, on chemistry and I know I bombed several of the questions. Many of them were about some concept we hadn’t even gone over yet in class. Then, since everyone was done with the test our teacher went ahead and taught us the next lesson – it was the exact topic I hadn’t known how to do on the test! And the worst part is I still don’t get it!!!

Then, I went to English class and had to watch the school psychologist give a presentation on stress as if I didn’t already know what stress was. I was seeing the presentation today for the second time, since this lady already did her little talk in my yoga class. And it was just as bad this time as the last time. Most of the presentation was devoted to talking about how stressful our lives are, and how we have a reason to be stressed. Then at the end the school psychologist attempted and failed to give us anti-anxiety techniques by showing us a video of the dorkiest looking kid on earth talking about coping mechanisms and how unrealistic they are for most people. He said, “I get a good ten hours of sleep – a week.” Is this supposed to help us get enough sleep? Then she showed a Planet Earth video clip of amazing phenomena in nature, and asked us afterward if we were able to focus on the video clip, and not start worrying about the future or the past. One boy raised his hand and pointed out that at first he was enjoying watching the video clips, but then he realized if he never made enough money to travel he would never get to see any of the wonders of the world in person. This is something I worry about as well, never being able to travel to other places in the world. I did not need to be reminded of my worries by this guy.

By the time the bell finally rang at 1:01 (we were released early today), I was so anxious my heart was beating a mile a minute. I could literally feel it fluttering in my chest like when I hold my cat and I feel her little heart racing. I also felt irritable, with a vague cloud of dread hanging over me. I stopped and asked myself, dread of what? Why am I so anxious right now? I couldn’t even figure out what got me so worked up; maybe it was a combination of little things.

Luckily I have strategies to relieve stress. And they do not involve watching any pointless video clips. Let me list some things I did today to calm down and release stress:

  • I ate a healthy lunch with delicious and good foods. I think low blood sugar was a major contributor to my stress since I hadn’t eaten in a while. Once I took the time to sit down to a balanced meal, my mood and ability to think reasonably improved.
  • I told my mom about the things that were stressing me out. Talking to a trusted person who will listen and relate to you is often a good idea. Speaking about my problems aloud helped make them seem smaller.
  • I took a walk. Luckily I had time to do this since we were released early from school. Exercise helps with stress because I physically feel like I’m going somewhere, doing something, moving forward and leaving my problems in the dust.

What do you do to relieve stress?

Now, on to the recipe. This is a make-ahead quesadilla that can easily be assembled the night before, if you have five or ten minutes in the evening. Colby-Pepper Jack cheese and egg is always a winning combination for me. I added peppers to try and make this quesadilla a little more interesting, and I thought they added a nice crunch and flavor. If you want to get gourmet about it and cook the peppers before adding them to the quesadilla go for it; I didn’t cook them but I think they would taste fine either way.

Make-Ahead Egg and Cheese Quesadilla

serves 1

Weekday Breakfasts, Updated! Wednesday: Make Ahead Egg and Cheese Quesadilla

Ingredients:

  • 2 personal-size corn tortillas
  • 1 egg
  • 1-2 mini sweet peppers, diced
  • 1 slice Colby-Pepper Jack cheese
  • 1/8 of an avocado, sliced

Directions:

Spray a pan with cooking spray. Scramble the egg, adding the peppers and cheese when it is almost done cooking.

When egg mixture is done cooking, remove from heat and place it on one corn tortilla. Add avocado slices and top with the remaining tortilla.

Refrigerate overnight. (I wrapped mine in a paper towel and put it in a ziplock.)

In the morning, when you are ready to eat the quesadilla, place it on a microwave-safe plate and cut in half. heat in the microwave until it is as warm as desired. (I warmed it for a little more than 30 seconds total.)

Enjoy! (And don’t be late to school, and remember all your deadlines, etcetera… ugh! 😦 )

Weekday Breakfasts, Updated! Wednesday: egg and cheese make-ahead quesadillaI thought for some reason it was a good idea to put the avocado on top of the quesadilla instead of inside. I ended up slipping it inside after the pictures… at least it looks good in the photos!

To see Tuesday’s Weekday Breakfasts, Updated! post, click here!

You Might Also Like:

Cheddar Swiss Apple Quesadilla

apple cheddar swiss cheese quesadilla

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

