Weekday Breakfasts, Updated! Thursday: Microwave “Baked” Pear

microwave "baked" pear weekday breakfasts, updated! Thursday

The pear is the sexiest fruit available in this part of the world. I’m serious, it’s actually been certified by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall (whoever that is) who said, “it is the pear – voluptuously shaped, scented and floral, dripping with ambrosial juices – that seems most completely to encapsulate the idea of fruity temptation.” Yes, I read this in a dictionary entry on Merriam-Webster Online because I’m a word-nerd. But the point is, I couldn’t have said it better – the pear truly is the most tempting, the most luscious, of the fruit family. Every time we buy pears they only last a few days in our fruit basket, seducing us all with their smooth curvy forms, until someone succumbs to their teasing flirtation and eats one. Just which someone gets the pleasure of letting their tastebuds revel in the juices of a sweet ripe pear is a constant contest. My dad and I are the big fruit-eaters of the family, so we are the top competitors. He has been known to wash and cut up a pear I was planning to eat while I am distracted. I know I have to act fast when pears are present in the fruit basket, if I want a chance at one before my dad snags them all.

This week my dad spontaneously picked up two pears at the grocery store. They were magnificent specimens, “voluptuous” as a pear can be, and I knew I would have to try one – if my dad didn’t get to them both first! I quickly concocted a plan to use one this morning in the updated breakfast idea of the day.

Weekday Breakfasts Updated! Thursday microwaved baked pear

I have never made baked pears; it seems like a lot of work and furthermore most recipes are so full of sugar it was just never worth it. But the concept seemed delicious, so I tried making my own unbaked “baked” pear. This recipe is so easy; literally all I had to do was toss the pear pieces with a little bit of sugar, cinnamon and maple syrup, warm it in the microwave, and add the toppings. I know baked pears usually involve some kind of crunchy cinnamon-y topping, so I incorporated this idea into my “shortcut baked pear” as well. Want to know what I used for the crunch topping? I’ll tell you if you promise to keep it a secret: Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal. A.K.A. junk. But is it really junk food? Well, it is made with highly processed ingredients and it’s pretty high in sugars, but hey! The amount I used contains 12 grams of whole grains. Two out of three’s not too bad… right? The way I see it, it’s good to every once in a while have something that’s not so healthy, just to switch things up. Besides, I say all the fiber from the dried fruit and pears kind of balances out the bad stuff in the cereal.

Weekday Breakfasts, Updated! Thursday: microwave "baked" pears

This recipe turned out great, quite sweet and a great breakfast indulgence that was still relatively healthy. I was really turned on by the texture combination of soft pear,chewy dried fruit, and crunchy cereal. I may have to start making this every morning! And this is my first recipe of the week that you could truly make the very moment you want to have it, with no prep work the night before. I did crunch up my cereal and get the raisins and cranberries ready the night before to save time, but I think it would also be possible to do everything the morning you want to have this. Overall the total time it took me to prepare this glorious microwave delight was at most five minutes.

Microwave “Baked” Pear

Serves 1

microwaved baked pear Weekday Breakfasts, Updated! Thursday

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole medium-large pear
  • 2 tsp muscovado sugar
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1 tsp pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 tbl dried cranberries
  • 1 tbl golden raisins
  • 1/4 cup Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal

Directions:

Wrap the cereal in a paper towel and apply pressure to crush it into little crumbs. (You may want to do this the night before to save time the next morning.)

Wash the pear and use a sharp knife to cut it up into bite sized chunks. Place chunks into small or medium microwave-safe bowl. Add the muscovado sugar, cinnamon, and maple syrup. Use a spoon to toss the ingredients.

Microwave for about 25 seconds or until warm. Remove from microwave and add the cranberries, raisins, and crushed cereal. Microwave for an additional 5 seconds and serve immediately!

To see Wednesday’s Weekday Breakfasts, Updated! post, click here!

You Might Also Like:

Easy Apple Cinnamon French Toast Tortilla

Apple Cinnamon French Toast Tortilla

2 responses

  1. The cereal topping was a clever short cut. Sounds great!

  2. I like the sound of a warm pear with cinnamon and maple syrup on it, with a crunchy topping. Yum!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

