Strawberry Lemonade Steel Cut Oatmeal

steel cut oatmeal with lemon and strawberry

Don’t you just hate when you try to bake something, investing hours of your time, using up a ton of ingredients and getting several bowls dirty… and then the end result is a flop? That’s what happened to me last weekend, a total of twice in one day. Late Sunday afternoon I tried to make muffins using no sugar. I tried to sweeten them with honey, but we only had less than a tablespoon left so you can imagine how the muffins turned out. Blech. But I really wanted to have some muffins for breakfast during the upcoming school week, so in the evening I got everything out all over again, whipping up another batch of muffins as if in a panic. Instead of honey I concocted the clever idea of blending a giant navel orange into the batter using a hand mixer. I got a pulpy orange mess all over my clothes and the bowls and stuff, but persisted and plopped the “take two” muffin batter into the muffin tin to bake. It was in the oven for almost five minutes before I realized I had forgotten to add baking powder. Oops. Frantically I took them out of the oven, scraped the batter out of the paper liners, and blended it with the baking powder before returning it to the oven, still hoping for the best.

The next morning I tried one of those muffins, and I have to say it may have been the worst muffin I’ve ever had. The orange pieces that didn’t get blended very well were still stuck together forming a weird clotted thing inside the muffin, there was almost no sweetness, barely any flavor at all. I resolved to try making muffins again that afternoon. But I had too much homework, so I set my sights on the next afternoon, or the next… of course I never did find the time to try again. So I did not have muffins this past week. What did I have for breakfast instead? Well, as they say, when life gives you lemons, make lemonade. Or in my case, when life gives you bad muffins, make strawberry lemonade steel cut oatmeal!

strawberry lemonade steel cut oatmeal

This was really one of the best bowls of oatmeal I’ve ever had. Even though oatmeal is generally a cold-weather food, this summery flavor was wonderful and I totally recommend it to brighten up a frigid June-gloom morning. The taste of lemon really came out in the hearty oats. And since it’s finally spring, I was able to get amazingly fresh, tart strawberries. Any time you combine lemon with strawberry, you’re sure to get a superb result!

Strawberry Lemonade Steel Cut Oatmeal

serves one

steel cut strawberry lemonade oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup quick cook steel cut oats
  • 1/2 cup hot water
  • 1/4 cup vanilla almondmilk
  • 1 tbl lemon curd
  • 1 tbl organic light agave syrup
  • 3-4 fresh strawberries, sliced

Directions:

In a small to medium pot, heat the water and vanilla almondmilk to high. When it starts to boil, turn the heat to medium. Add the oats, lemon curd and agave syrup. Cook this mixture for a few minutes. Stir occasionally.

When the oats are done cooking, pour into your bowl for serving. Top with the fresh strawberries. Let cool a minute or two before enjoying this delicious springtime oatmeal!

With a fun breakfast like this, I didn’t even miss having muffins last week. But I will definitely try to make some edible ones for this week. No promises, but if they do happen to turn out well I will post the recipe!

You Might Also Like:

Weekday Breakfasts, Updated! Monday: Whole Wheat Blueberry Lemon Coconut Muffins

Weekday Breakfasts, Updated! Monday: blueberry lemon coconut muffins

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

