Seven Selfish Days – Day Two: Breakfast Banana Split Sundae

breakfast banana split sundae for seven selfish days - day two

I’ve mentioned before on this blog that my family has two pets: Artemis the cat and Francisco the betta fish. We don’t really have the room in our house for more pets than two, though my dad begs like a kid for my mom to let us get a dog, and my brother has tentatively been promised a reptile someday in the distant future. Me, I’d love a dog. While I’m not so crazy about the idea of a reptile, I know I’d end up falling in love with the animal anyway after a few weeks. Today I actually got a taste of what life with an additional pet would be like: we (very) temporarily fostered a wild lizard. Yes, it was just caught in someone’s house. I shall not name this person just in case a PETA member happens to read this and start stalking her, but I will say that she caught the lizard in her home for my brother to study and enjoy temporarily. It was cool to see the little guy up close, since usually when I see wild lizards they scamper away before I can get a good look at them. My brother identified the creature as an alligator lizard, and he and my mom decided to name the lizard Al. We gave him some pieces of banana and some of the bloodworms we normally give our fish, but he didn’t eat anything. We also snapped a couple pictures of him (he was uncooperative and did not look at the camera, as you can see.)

Al the alligator lizard

alligator lizard (Al)

Cool as Al was, I felt really sorry for the poor thing. He didn’t know where he was, he had been taken out of his natural environment and into practically a different biome (since our house is much colder then the place where he was caught, just a few miles away.) He also had a parasite or something on his neck. My brother (the reptile expert) said there was nothing we could do about that since he would have to be anesthetized in order to have it removed. He is a wild animal, and I guess in nature animals just deal with gross stuff like that.

He was only at our house for a couple hours before we returned him to his natural habitat. I wasn’t there to return him since I was at a violin lesson. But my brother said he seemed happy. I’m glad he was able to recover from his abduction, because it seems like it must have been kind of traumatic for him.

See? I’m not always selfish. I care about the feelings of others. Really. But yes, I was selfish about this breakfast sundae! And who could blame me? The cinnamon toast was a nostalgic childhood delight, and it went together perfectly with the amazing vanilla bean fro-yo. I added sweet agave syrup,  tart strawberries, and smooth banana slices. Chocolatey yogurt raisins made for a great finishing touch.

I guess I’m using the phrase “banana split” kind of loosely in the description of this sundae, since there is no caramel. Also usually banana splits don’t include raisins. But who cares about the details? Whether or not this single serving treat can correctly be labeled “banana split” is quite irrelevant. The point is, it was SO GOOD and improved my Monday morning blahs by at least a full percentage! I love eating dessert for breakfast. Especially when I don’t have to share with anyone.

So in keeping with this week’s theme, here’s a banana split sundae healthy enough to have for breakfast, and delicious enough that you won’t want to share.

Breakfast Banana Split Sundae

serves one

breakfast banana strawberry chocolate sundae for Seven Selfish Days - Day One

Ingredients:

  • 1 slice whole wheat bread
  • 1 tsp Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread (or other margarine or butter)
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • generous splattering of cinnamon
  • 1 Open Nature brand Greek frozen yogurt, vanilla bean flavor
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • 2-3 small to medium strawberries, sliced
  • 1 tbl organic light agave syrup
  • 1 tbl Sunmaid brand dark chocolate yogurt covered raisins

Directions:

Toast bread in the toaster. Then spread it with the Earth balance and top with the brown sugar. Splash with cinnamon. Congratulations! You’ve made cinnamon toast! Try not to eat it as is. I know it’s tempting, but the toppings you are about to add will make it a hundred times better.

Use an ice cream scoop to scoop the vanilla bean Greek yogurt onto the toast. Top with the agave syrup, strawberries, banana, and chocolate covered raisins.

NOW you can eat it! And I hope you enjoy every bite!

Resist eating the plain cinnamon toast…

cinnamon toast

Cut into cute little triangles…

cinnamon toast cut into four pieces

Add fro-yo and agave…

cinnamon toast topped with fro-yo and agave

Top with fun toppings!

breakfast banana split sundae: Seven Selfish Days Day Two

And finally, dig in!

seven selfish days - day two: banana split breakfast sundae

To see yesterday’s Seven Selfish Days post, click here!

2 responses

  1. The thing on his neck was a tick! Pretty common and normal for them to have it. Their blood neutralizes lyme disease actually. (Easy to remove too, but need to kill the tick).

    They only eat insects unfortunately 🙂

    1. Thanks for the info! We actually have an insectivorous bearded dragon right now, but I haven’t been posting any beardie-friendly recipes… this is a strictly non-insect food blog! 🙂

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

