Seven Selfish Days – Day Three: Coffee Cake in a Mug

If there’s anything I’ll eat in a coffee mug, it’s cake. I have never drunk coffee, and as long as the sky is in one piece above the earth I will do everything in my power never to let that foul substance pass my lips. I tasted it once, years ago, and it was just not for me. I am also hesitant to allow myself to become addicted to anything – what if I was stranded somewhere and couldn’t access any coffee for several weeks? I may not remember how to function without it. My dad is so dependent on coffee that he’s constantly plagued with the need to run over to Starbucks and grab a cup, or brew some himself with the instant coffee he buys. Imagine all that money he spends on coffee, going towards a good cause instead (like buying me a new camera!) Imagine all the calories from the coffee creamer, being conserved and spent on something worth eating – like this delicious coffee cake I made for myself this morning. In one of his precious coffee mugs.

seven selfish days - day three: mug coffee cake with apple, raisins, and pecans

I got this recipe from Chocolate Covered Katie, who must now be my favorite fellow food blogger. The recipe was so easy and the result was delicious! I am often skeptical of the mug cake dessert recipes people post online, because a lot of them are not all they are hyped up to be. This coffee cake was as good as promised and then some! I replaced the spelt flour in the original recipe with whole wheat flour, and it worked out just fine. The cake tasted just like a traditional, hearty breakfast cake, but was so much simpler to make. For added nutrition, I stirred in some apple, golden raisins, and pecans. They really lent themselves to the cinnamon in the coffee cake. So I absolutely recommend this recipe, either with or without the mix-ins I added. And of course feel free to devise your own variations as well.

Coffee Cake in a Mug

adapted from this recipe on Chocolate Covered Katie

serves one

mug coffee cake for seven selfish days - day three

Ingredients:

for coffee cake

  • 3 tbls whole wheat flour (I used King Arthur brand)
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbl brown sugar
  • 1 tbl + 2 tsps water
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp organic pure agave syrup

for cinnamon streusel

  • 1 1/4 tsp brown sugar
  • generous dash of cinnamon
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp olive oil

optional add-ins

  • about 1/2 of a Granny Smith apple, chopped to little pieces
  • 1 tbl golden raisins
  • 2 pecan halves, chopped into little pieces (I just used my hands to break them apart)

Directions:

In a teensy little bowl or container, combine the streusel ingredients and mix. Set aside.

In another small bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and 1 tbl brown sugar and mix well. Add the water, 1 tsp oil, the vanilla extract and agave syrup and mix until all the dry ingredients have been incorporated into the wet. Stir in apple pieces, raisins and pecans, reserving some for topping.

Spoon about 1/2 to 3/4 of the coffee cake batter into a coffee mug. Top with half of the cinnamon streusel. Add the rest of the coffee cake batter, and finally top this off with what remains of the cinnamon streusel.

Sprinkle the top with the remaining add-in ingredients. (note: I actually added the mix-ins along with the cinnamon streusel, then mixed everything down into the batter a bit . So just do what works for you.)

Microwave for about 1 minute. (Mine was microwaved for 50 or 55 seconds.)

There’s nothing like a good cup of cake in the morning!

seven selfish days - day three: apple raisin pecan coffee cake in a mug

To see yesterday’s Seven Selfish Days post, click here!

You Might Also Like:

Baked Cinnamon Swirl Donuts

baked cinnamon swirl donut

2 responses

  1. Excellent article. I definitely appreciate this website.

    Stick with it!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

