Seven Selfish Days – Day Seven: Vegan Fruit and Peanut Butter Soft Serve

For the final day of my week of posting single-serving recipes, I was thinking of making some  frozen yogurt in a blender. I’ve made that a couple times now. But I realized, this week nearly every recipe I’ve posted has contained some dairy. Lots of people reading health food blogs do not eat dairy, and I wanted to come up with a little something just for them, too. So, vegans, this one’s for you: dairy free soft serve. I used almondmilk in place of the yogurt, making this a treat for vegans and non-vegans alike to enjoy!

The flavors of the soft serve are, needless to say, a great combination: the tried-and-true, ever-popular combo of fruit and peanut butter. The fruits I used are strawberry, grape, and apple, but many different types of fruit would work just as well. I froze my own apple chunks, but the apples may not be such a good choice in this kind of recipe because the blender was really having trouble chopping them. I didn’t peel off the skin prior to freezing, and that may have been part of the problem. But overall, this soft serve was quite delicious.

Vegan Fruit and Peanut Butter Soft Serve

based on this recipe from HealthY, HaPpy & WhOle

makes one serving

seven selfish days - day seven: vegan fruit and peanut butter soft serve in a blender

Ingredients:

  • 4 frozen strawberries
  • 10 frozen red seedless grapes
  • 1/4 of a frozen apple
  • 1 1/2 tbls vanilla almondmilk
  • 1 tsp organic light agave syrup
  • 1 tbl Laura Scudder’s peanut butter
  • 1 tbl roasted and salted peanuts (for topping)

Directions:

Place the frozen fruit, almondmilk, agave syrup, and 1/2 a tablespoon of peanut butter in the blender. Blend for about five minutes or until mixture has a smooth texture. (I got impatient so my soft serve still had some fruit chunks in it.) Top with the other 1/2 a tablespoon of peanut butter, and the roasted and salted peanuts.

I actually put the finished soft serve in the freezer for a few minutes after blending to make it extra cold.

seven selfish days day seven peanut butter and fruit vegan soft serve

Okay, so maybe this isn’t the very most photogenic dessert in the world. But it sure did taste good!

And so concludes one whole week of posting single serving recipes. Check out the posts from earlier this week:

Sunday: Single Serve White Chocolate Cherry Cheesecake Cookie

Monday: Breakfast Banana Split Sundae (and yes I do see the irony of having a “sundae” on a “Monday”)

Tuesday: Coffee Cake in a Mug

Wednesday: Egg McMuffin

Thursday: Banana Lemon Pancakes for Two (or one)

Friday: Breakfast Cheesecake for One

Of course I will be making tons more single serve recipes, as that seems to be what makes up about 3/4 of the posts on this blog anyway.

Being selfish is awfully fun, isn’t it? Glad I got that out of my system. Now I can be selfless and do everything my mom wants for Mother’s Day tomorrow!

You Might Also Like:

“Cherry Garcia” Fro-Yo in a Blender! No Ice Cream Maker Necessary

frozen soft-serve in a blender: Cherry Garcia

2 responses

  1. Nicely done. I love these frozen soft serve ice creams…they are especially handy once the summer heat begins to rise!

    1. That’s what I’m beginning to realize…thank you so much for providing the recipe!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

