Choco-Banana Breakfast Mug Cake

breakfast cake in a mug chocolate/banana

Before I start the obligatory sparkling description of this recipe, I want to say a few words about something totally different. Just a few. If you are overcome with impatience and MUST have this chocolatey delight right now this instant, of course feel free to skip to the recipe.

This evening I attended my school’s Dance Showcase. This is a bi-annual performance put on by the dance classes to present what they have been learning (and wear incredibly revealing costumes!!!) I thought the performance was outstanding. I wish you could have been there, every dance had a backstory and some were funny, some were sad, some were more than a little disturbing. There were so many different girls performing, each one with a different body type. And I can honestly say that I thought all the dancers looked amazing onstage. They were really getting into it, infusing the dances (some of which were choreographed by the students) with their own personality. And in the moment, as they all carried themselves with confidence and style, as they all danced with heart and soul, they all had “perfect bodies.” The impression I got was that they were all just having too much fun to feel fat, and therefore none of them were. I have mentioned before on this blog that I don’t think there is such a thing as a perfect body. It’s all in how a person works with what she’s got. If we all went through life with the same energy, the same passion, I think no one would ever have to complain or feel self-conscious about their body ever again. Maybe we should all attend the dance class at my school.

Why don’t I take dance, you ask? Eh. I have two left feet when it comes to dancing. Yoga is much more up my alley since in yoga I rarely have to look perfect or get out of anyone’s way onstage. Good thing my school offers a yoga class as well. Both yoga and dance are great ways for students to build a better self-image. (Yuck, I sound like a teacher at Open House. Okay, I’ll stop now.)

banana chocolate coconut walnut breakfast mug cake

Now, for the totally unrelated recipe: breakfast cake. Two words that aren’t supposed to go together. But if you know me, you know I love bending the rules and having dessert for breakfast. This is a mug cake, and a good one at that, with a perfectly moist texture and lots of chocolate. I added banana, walnuts and coconut for extra flavor and fiber. Melty chocolate chips really made this mug cake a masterpiece.

The only thing I might change about this cake is adding just a tad more sweetness, possibly more banana or more agave syrup. But other than that it had an awesome texture and taste. And with whole grains, nuts, and fruit, it is perfectly acceptable for breakfast even with all that chocolate!

This cake will make you want to dance!

Choco-Banana Breakfast Mug Cake

adapted from this recipe on my blog, which I originally got from Chocolate Covered Katie

Serves 1

breakfast mug cake chocolate banana with walnut and coconut

Ingredients:

cake batter

  • 2 tbls whole wheat flour (I used King Arthur brand)
  • 1 tbl Hershey’s unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tbl brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 of a banana (or try more for more banana-y flavor)
  • 1 tbl + 2 tsps water
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp organic light agave syrup (or try adding more to increase sweetness)

mix-ins/toppings (feel free to switch these up!)

  • 1 tbl walnuts
  • 1 tbl sweetened coconut flakes
  • 15 pieces/ about 1 tbl semi sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

In a very small bowl, mash the banana with a fork.

In a microwave-safe mug, combine dry ingredients. Add banana and other wet ingredients. Mix thoroughly. Stir in most of the walnuts, coconut flakes and chocolate chips, but reserve some for topping.

Microwave for about 45 – 50 seconds. Top with the remaining topping ingredients. Let cool for a minute or so, and enjoy!

coconut walnut chocolate banana breakfast cake in a mug

You Might Also Like:

Chocolate Orange Volcano Smoothie

 IMG_6210

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

