All Season Pleasin’ Muffins

chocolate peanut butter nutella oatmeal muffin

Have you ever noticed that most people have two different personalities, one for spring/summer and one for fall/winter? I don’t think the FDA has tested this, but I for one am positive that I have a totally different personality in the warm, sunny months than I do in the cold time when all I want to do is hunker at home under the covers until the sun shows up again. I feel like during the spring and summer I am much more fun and outgoing than I tend to be in fall and winter. It’s almost like I’m a different person for half the year. In general, I notice a lot more squirrelly behavior in my classes these days than I did when the sky was the color of a prison wall. People seem to be willing to put themselves out there more in the spring and summer, with more revealing clothing to match the more daring flirting and outrageous clowning around taking place under the welcome sunshine. Whereas in the winter you could hardly get someone to muster up the energy to smile and say hello to you. This is why I prefer the spring and summer months by a landslide. I wish it could be summer all the time!

Just as people have alter egos for summer and winter, we also tend to eat different things during the fall/winter compared to what we eat in the spring/summer. In winter, most of the fresh produce that’s available is harvested from the ground in the form of root vegetables. But in spring, all the trees blossom and we can reach up to eat their fruit. Just like we come out of our lethargic state or “hibernation” in the spring and embrace the warmth like a flower opening up and blooming in the sun.

By spring, I often find I’m bored to tears of the two or three fruits available from about November through March. I am sick of apples, pears, and baking everything with pumpkin and/or cranberries. I’m ready for pineapple, cherries, nectarines, berries…all the flavors of summer! So lots of the recipes I would normally be making during fall and winter don’t appeal to me in spring and summer. But this muffin recipe, which I just discovered, is an exception. I’m sure I’ll be making this, or at least variations of it, all year round for the foreseeable future. This is a muffin that is pleasin’ in all seasons! I’m sure if you try this you will come to the same conclusion.

chocolate peanut butter nutella oatmeal strawberry muffins

These muffins are a perfect combination of comfort and flavor. Hearty whole grains and a lovely oat-y texture meet chocolatey flavor, rich peanut butter, and silky smooth sweet Nutella. For the finishing touch, I topped these muffins with crunchy salted peanuts. As it is late May I was able to add strawberries and peaches to the batter. But if you’re making these muffins in autumn, you may want to switch out the summer fruits for apples or pears, both of which taste great with peanut butter and Nutella. Or add pumpkin flavor and spices and bring these to Thanksgiving brunch/lunch/dinner. Whatever the season, these muffins will surely appeal to anyone with tastebuds (and no nut allergies.) Try it! You’ll like it.

I couldn’t really taste the peaches, so I might suggest replacing them with more strawberries or anything else that appeals to you.

For the full recipe, click here!

Good morning, beautiful!

chocolate whole wheat muffin with peanut butter and nutella

Oooh, what have we here?

peanut butter nutella strawberry whole wheat muffin with steel cut oats

As time goes on you only grow more fascinating… and more delicious!

nutella peanut butter oatmeal whole wheat muffin

You Might Also Like:

Oatmeal Almond Butter Awesomeness Muffins

muffins with oatmeal and dark chocolate almond butter

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

