Mediterranean-Inspired Salad

Finally! The school year dragged itself out as long as possible, but it is FINALLY OVER. Today was my first day of vacation. Even though it was kind of gloomy and practically drizzling, we braved the June gloom to visit the pier.

We saw some cute little ground squirrels on the walk there. They were just minding their own business, nibbling at the grass and skittering away from anyone who came too close. They didn’t take too kindly to paparazzi, but I was able to snap a few good shots:

two ground squirrels

ground squirrel

Did I ever mention that I finally got a new camera? I got it about a month ago, and it takes really nice, clear pictures. Like this one:

ground squirrels grazing

The squirrel on the left seems shocked at my rudeness: “Why are you taking my picture while I’m eating? What if I have grass blades stuck between my teeth?”

grazing ground squirrel with angry face

Then we got to the pier, enjoyed the rides and the gloomy view of the sea, looked at the really overpriced souvenirs but didn’t buy anything, etcetera. I won’t bore you by blogging about that.

What I noticed about the food situation at the pier was that it didn’t really cater to people who want to eat healthy. I saw several churro stands, popcorn stands, and ice cream vendors, a store selling greasy burgers and fries, another selling greasy pizza, and a funnel cake store. Those ground squirrels would have been shocked at the level of junk food offered. “Why don’t they sell any grass salads?”, They would have asked. I myself was puzzled. I mean, maybe no one wants to eat grass, but I’m sure some pier-goers would appreciate a light meal option such as a salad.

When I got home, I made myself a little salad. It was sort of Mediterranean-style, except the only cheese I had was cheddar, so I didn’t quite keep to the Mediterranean theme. But the cheddar cheese mingled wonderfully with the other ingredients, and I actually recommend using it.

For those looking for a light summer lunch that doesn’t include grease or funnel cake, here is a delicious, single-portion-size salad. Make like a ground squirrel and eat your vegetables!

Mediterranean-Inspired Salad

makes one serving

mediterranean inspired salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup baby spinach leaves
  • 6-8 cherry tomatoes
  • 3 artichoke hearts (I used Cara Mia brand)
  • 4 pimiento stuffed manzanilla olives
  • 1/4 of an avocado, cut into smallish pieces
  • 2 tbls Sargento brand 4-State Cheddar shredded cheese
  • 2 tbls roasted red pepper hummus

Directions:

Make sure spinach and tomatoes are washed. Place spinach, tomatoes, artichoke hearts, olives, avocado, and cheese in a medium salad bowl. Add hummus and toss. Enjoy!

Ground squirrel level:

spinach

getting better…

spinach, tomatoes, and olives

human level…

mediterranean inspired salad: almost ready!

awesome level!!! Yay!

mediterranean style salad

The hummus really makes the salad.

What is your favorite ingredient in a salad?

You Might Also Like:

Weekday Breakfasts, Updated! Friday: Medit-American Breakfast Pita

Medit-American breakfast pita pockets Weekday Breakfasts, Updated! Friday

One response

  1. I like the way you delineated the different levels of the salad. You are so right!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

