Sweet Strawberry Crèpe with Frozen Yogurt

Today my mom went to a hip, fashionable cafe with gorgeous decorations, and apparently had a horrible experience. I wasn’t there, but according to her the service was terrible, the coffee was overpriced…and worst of all, she wasn’t allowed to use her laptop! How can you call yourself a cafe and not allow people to use electronic devices? In today’s society, that’s pretty scandalous. Although I resent how human beings and machines are slowly being melded into one hybrid creature, I too have become quite attached to the world of computers and the internet, and can sympathize with the general societal need to use laptops in cafes.

Anyway, if I ran a cafe I would be welcoming of all my customers and their electronic companions. I would also serve only the highest quality fare possible. This strawberry crèpe would definitely be on the menu. I wish I could have served this to my mom, rather than her having to fork over quite a bit of money for bad coffee and a side dish of attitude, compliments of the chef. I would even have allowed her to use her laptop while eating, if she was willing to risk getting frozen yogurt on it. Too bad I was sitting in a summer class at the time…

strawberry crèpe for one frozen yogurt

I am happy to be independent from cafes for my personal treats and sweets. More and more now, I have been making my own meals, rather than relying on a cafe to hopefully do the job right. Since I am able to make my own crèpe, I can make it healthy, with whole wheat flour, fresh fruit, and healthy Greek yogurt topping. I can also create my own original crèpe flavors that only I would be adventurous enough to try, rather than relying on marketing experts to determine what flavors sell and being stuck with a limited selection. This particular crèpe is not all that unusual – just strawberry, inside and out. But I loved it! Sometimes it’s good to go back to the basics. The sweet agave syrup was a perfect compliment for the tart, refreshing strawberries. I topped it all off with to-good-to-be-true creamy, sweet frozen yogurt. Open Nature sells single-serving frozen yogurt cups, and they are really great. I highly recommend them for smoothies and toppings for other desserts like this crèpe.

Sweet Strawberry Crèpe with Frozen Yogurt

makes one crèpe

single serve strawberry crepe with frozen yogurt

Ingredients:

crèpe batter

  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp organic raw agave syrup
  • 1 1/2 tbls plain almond milk
  • 2 tbls whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

filling & topping

  • 3-4 fresh strawberries, sliced and/or diced (I did some of each)
  • 1 tsp organic raw agave syrup
  • 1 single-serve container of Open Nature Greek strawberry flavored frozen yogurt

Directions:

To make the crèpe, first beat the egg. Add the flour, almond milk, agave and vanilla and mix.

Spray a small pan with nonstick spray. Heat to medium and pour the batter onto the pan. When the edges start to curl up, flip and cook the other side.

After cooking for a few minutes, check the underside of the crèpe. If done, remove from heat and place on plate.

Put most of the strawberries and 1 tsp agave in the center of the crèpe, leaving enough room to cover with the crèpe.

strawberries in crepe

Fold crèpe over the fillings. Top with the frozen yogurt and remaining strawberries.

folded over strawberry crepe

Now we’re in business!

strawberry frozen yogurt crepe, ready to eat

Oh, and by the way: I saw a cafe called Vegan Crèpe yesterday. Does anyone know how to make a vegan crèpe? I’m just curious, since it seems to me egg is pretty central to the crèpe batter.

You Might Also Like:

Une Crèpe Fantastique!

pumpkin butter apple single serving crepe

3 responses

  1. I think you’re smart to make your own treats. That way you get exactly what you want – and can use your laptop, too!

  2. Looks delicious as always! Love your posts 🙂

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

