Key Lime Cake & Strawberry Shake

Do you ever feel like time just slips away when you’re not looking? I know I do. All school year, I’ve been planning for all the things I was going to do during the summer, when I would have a surplus of time: work on my writing skills, watch a French film or two, take up a new athletic activity of some kind, and of course lots of baking and cooking were all included in my long list of personal ambitions. But lately I find I don’t have as much free time as I thought. I’m taking a history class this summer so I won’t have to take it during the school year, and once I get through the class and my homework, I often only have enough time for simple activities, like taking a short walk, playing with my cat, or watching films of nature and animals on Youtube with my brother the junior herpetologist. Yet I find that, even though I haven’t done much very ambitious yet this summer, I can find peace and relaxation in the days when I just fill the little free time I have with these simple activities. The time runs like a serene waterfall…I just wish it wouldn’t run so fast!

I predict I will be spending much of my vacation time doing these boring, yet in a way worthwhile activities. However, hopefully every so often I will get the chance to do something more ambitious. I’m hoping to bake something today, and later on I am going shopping for a book (since I already finished all my summer reading requirements!) So far today I have also made an easy shake, perfect for lazy summer days when all you want to do is relax with a yummy smoothie and a book/cat/nature video.

key lime strawberry cake batter smoothie

This is a cake batter shake that is healthy enough to eat for breakfast. The “cake batter” is made with all whole wheat flour, and sweetened only by a dash of vanilla and some high protein white chocolate peanut butter. The banana is as always a great breakfast food, providing potassium, iron, and the good type of natural sugars that don’t cause a horrible crash later on in the day. The fresh strawberries are a good source of vitamin C and help increase good cholesterol, among numerous other benefits. And the yogurt is a good source of calcium, very important to support the bones. Honestly, I could go on all day about the health benefits of different foods, but I know you’re anxious to get to the smoothie and get a start on today’s ambitions, so let’s get on with it!

The “cake batter” I used for this smoothie really ended up with more of a cookie dough consistency, but still tasted like cake when blended into the other ingredients. Of course the flavor combination of lime and strawberry is a perfect, summery blend. With the addition of cake batter, it tastes just like a perfect summer day: light, yet also rich and flavorful. It would have been extra great with some coconut flakes on top, but I was feeling lazy so I skipped that. But feel free to do it if you’re in the ambitious mood!

Key Lime Cake and Strawberry Shake

serves one

key lime strawberry cake batter shake

Ingredients:

cake batter

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp Peanut Butter and Co. brand White Chocolate Wonderful peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbls warm water

smoothie

  • 1 banana
  • 1 Yoplait Whips Key Lime Pie yogurt
  • 1/2 cup Silk brand Original almond milk
  • 4 strawberries
  • 1-2 ice cubes

Directions: First, make the cake batter: combine the whole wheat flour, white chocolate peanut butter, and vanilla. Add the water, 1 tablespoon at a time, until the cake batter has the consistency of a glob of cookie dough.

Place all ingredients in blender. (If you like, reserve a little bit of the cookie dough/cake batter and one strawberry for topping. However, I found that the cake batter stuff didn’t taste as good on its own as it did blended into the smoothie, so it’s probably best to just blend all the cake batter with the smoothie.) Blend for a minute or until all ingredients are combined. Pour into a glass and serve cold.

This is sure to be the perfect refreshment, whether you are spending your day achieving your dreams…or just daydreaming! After all, sometimes doing nothing is what free time is for.

But not all your free time… and I am definitely going to be doing something at some point, don’t you worry! You can expect at least a few new recipes on this blog this summer! In the meantime, why don’t you go make your key lime cake batter shake while I watch this new blue-tongued skink video? 🙂

You Might Also Like:

Breakfast Brownie Batter Shake

breakfast shake with chocolate brownie batter

To find out more about the health benefits of bananas and strawberries: http://www.lifescript.com/food/articles/0/14_banana_health_benefits_you_might_not_know_about.aspxhttp://www.webmd.com/diet/features/nutritional-benefits-of-the-strawberry

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

