Amateur Taco Salad

First, before you scrutinize this recipe, let me make a disclaimer. This is not a professional taco salad. First of all, there are no beans. I wanted to include beans, but didn’t have any on hand. Secondly, instead of a taco shell I used a corn tortilla ripped into strips. Much healthier and lower in carbs anyway. Finally, I did not feel like making a guacamole so I just chopped up some avocado. Very impressive, I know. But I was only making this for myself, and I was short on time. Even with my un-proffessional approach to this salad, it did taste great. I recommend it for a healthy, nearly effortless summer meal.

no beans taco salad

Salads are always healthy, right? Wrong. Many salads are loaded with refined carbohydrates and buckets full of fatty dressing. And the portions served in many restaurants are much more than one person should be eating in one meal. Some restaurant salads are about 1.5 to 2 meals’ worth of food! That being said, if good judgement is exercised ordering a salad can be a healthy choice. For example, if I were to get a taco salad from a restaurant, I would most likely skip the tostada shell and the sour cream. Guacamole is a healthy fat commonly found in taco salads, and a dollop of guac can’t hurt you, health-wise or flavor-wise. It’s also important to eat slowly and be mindful of when you are full.

When you don’t have the time or willingness to go to a restaurant for a salad, go ahead and make your own. Mine certainly isn’t the most sophisticated taco salad recipe out there, but it is very simple to make. It has good fiber from the veggies, and plenty of protein from the cheese and Tofurkey slices. Regardless of the disdainful looks I was getting from my cat Artemis as I assembled this salad, I say it’s a great meal.

Artemis looks disdainfully at taco salad

If there’s no carne involved, the predator is not interested. But I actually like the taste and texture of Tofurkey better than real meat, to tell you the truth. The Tofurkey in this salad is complemented well by the spicy salsa.

Amateur Taco Salad

Serves 1 person

taco salad with no beans

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups mixed baby greens
  • 1/4 of an entire avocado, cut into little cube-esque pieces
  • 1/4 cup Sargento shredded 4 Cheese Mexican cheese
  • 2 slices Roast Turkey Style Tofurkey
  • 1 Mission brand personal-sized corn tortilla, ripped into strips/pieces (in the spirit of the amateur style, my “strips” were not uniform in shape and size at all)
  • 2 tbls tomato salsa (I used Salsa Lisa brand medium “homemade recipe”)

Directions:

In a small to medium salad bowl, combine and toss all ingredients. Serve.

You Might Also Like:

Mediterranean-Inspired Salad

mediterranean style salad

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

