Happy 4th of July!

Happy Fourth, everyone! For me, it’s America’s Independence Day and my dad’s birthday all in one! I knew it would be a busy day today, and it was.

I’ve honestly been celebrating the Fourth of July for at least a week before today. I decked out my nails for the occasion on Monday, humming the national anthem as I painted them. (Really!)

nail design for July 4th 2013

I also baked some red, brown, and blue cupcakes (they were supposed to be red white, and blue; you can read more about that here.)

lemon strawberry blueberry cupcake with chocolate yogurt frosting and berries

I have been busy all day today! First thing in the morning, after breakfast, I ran in my city’s annual Fourth of July 5k, along with my dad. I don’t have any pictures from that, which is probably good since I was all hot and sweaty anyway. But I felt really good because I finished the race, and ran the whole way without stopping. When it got tough to keep going, I imagined I was a soldier in 1776, training to fight for the rights of my people. I think that helped me run steadily. I feel so grateful to the people who helped America gain its independence, because quite honestly I don’t think I could have accomplished what they did. As my eighth grade history teacher once said, life was so much more exciting in the olden days. But also more perilous.

After the run, I enjoyed a cold smoothie and went to my grandma’s house to see some relatives and watch the local parade. The best part was the beginning, when three skydivers descended down from the sky.

parachute July fourth parade 2013

There were also some pretty cool floats:

fourth of July float 2013

After the parade we returned to my Grandma’s house, where we had a hot dog/veggie dog barbecue.

We will be celebrating my dad’s birthday on Saturday, when we have more time.

What did you do for the Fourth of July?

P.S.: To see more of my nail designs, click here!

One response

  1. What a great memoir of the day! I personally hope you make those cupcakes again before the next U.S. holiday.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

