Banana Berry Breakfast Soft Serve

I have not been having the best time lately. My teacher just assigned the final project for my summer U.S. history class, and I have been doing grueling research and trying to write an essay and worrying about the presentation I will have to give in front of the class.Unfortunately, my topic for the final project is the death penalty, and I’m not having fun having to have that be on my mind lately.

I took a break from my dismal studies this afternoon to go visit my brother. But that offered no solace, as he has apparently been transformed into an alien:

my brother the alien

Yikes! Looks like I’ve been watching too many science fiction films lately. (Well, actually, I haven’t, but yesterday in school we had to watch a Twilight Zone episode. It was about a dummy that came to life and was very disturbing.)

One of the few good things that has happened lately is this soft serve I had for breakfast this morning! Last night I had some extra time, so I got ambitious and ventured into the world of homemade granola. I have to say, it was much easier to make than I thought it would be. This time around I made a pretty plain mix, with only oats, almonds, and walnuts, but even in its mundanity it is great. My mom loved it, and I knew I wanted to try some. I decided to pair it with another ambitious project – breakfast soft serve.

I saw this recipe on Gluten Free Gus for a frozen banana breakfast bowl, and instantly knew I had to try it. I couldn’t find the plain Kefir called for in the recipe, so I got blueberry flavor instead. Building off of that, I started adding raspberries and strawberries, and soon it was really a banana berry smoothie in soft-serve form. I topped the soft serve with fruit, coconut, and a taste of my homemade granola. Perfection!

This soft serve was very smooth and delicious. For some reason, though, mine turned out a little more liquid-y than I would like, so I think next time I will use a little less of the Kefir drinkable yogurt. Other than that, though, it was a really great, fruity flavored breakfast disguised as a dessert-y soft-serve! I definitely recommend trying this for breakfast, as an alternative to the overdone yogurt parfait.

Banana Berry Breakfast Soft Serve

based on this recipe from Gluten Free Gus

serves one person

breakfast banana berry soft serve

Ingredients:

for soft serve

  • 1 banana, chopped into one inch chunks and frozen
  • 1/2 cup frozen raspberries
  • 1/2 cup (or try less for a thicker soft serve) blueberry Kefir drinkable yogurt (I found this in the dairy section of Whole Foods market)

for topping

  • 2-3 strawberries, sliced
  • 2-3 tbls granola (try homemade)
  • 1 tbl sweetened flaked coconut

Directions:

Place banana chunks, raspberries, and Kefir in blender. Blend until smooth (about 5 minutes.) Pour out of blender into large bowl. Add toppings and devour immediately!

banana berry soft serve with toppings

By the way, I found out later that my brother just looked like that because I had accidentally put my camera on fish-eye setting. Phew! I thought we had an alien on our hands!

You Might Also Like:

“Cherry Garcia” Fro-Yo in a Blender! No Ice Cream Maker Necessary

frozen soft-serve in a blender: Cherry Garcia

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

