Dessert for Breakfast! Day Two: Piña Colada Pancake for One

Pineapple. The ultimate fruit of summer. Just the thought of a pineapple brings the image of blue skies and a turquoise ocean to my mind. Preferably with a beach hammock in some shade and very durable sunscreen to resist many hours in the sun and dips in the water without letting me cook like a casserole in the oven of someone extremely  forgetful and scattered. (I get sunburned after about two seconds in the sun.)

dessert for breakfast day 2 pina colada single pancake with cherry jam

As soon as I saw some pineapples for sale at my grocery store, I knew I had to get one. I’d never tried carving one before, and for a moment I wavered and considered the alternative to a whole pineapple: one of those little boxes of ready-to-eat pineapple chunks. But that fruit is not as fresh, and I have a feeling the plastic boxes are not environmentally friendly. The whole, unadulterated, juicy fresh pineapple fruit looked much more appealing, and no plastic was involved. So I went ahead and bought it.

It sat in out fruit basket for a few days. Every time I glanced at it I would wonder if it was ripe, or when I would get a chance to try carving it. It was so appealing…yet so daunting. Finally today I decided to try it. With some extra muscle power from my mom, the goal was accomplished and the golden, sweet fruit was on the table, ready for use. Whenever I think of making something with pineapple, my mind automatically drifts to the pineapple+coconut+cherry combo.

I have never had a real piña colada, but when I was in elementary school I used to eat a Yoplait low fat yogurt with my lunch every day. One of my favorite flavors was “Piña Colada,” even though I had no idea what a piña colada actually was at the time. No, it isn’t a dessert, but the flavors of pineapple and coconut go together so well and so sweetly I thought I’d combine them in a pancake, slather some cherry jam on top, and call that dessert for breakfast. Is it really a dessert? It’s good enough to be. Trust me, this pancake tastes so delicious you could pass it off as a dessert.

The batter is made with whole wheat flour, and only sweetened by agave with no refined sugar. I included a whole cup of pineapple in the recipe, which provides a good chunk of the daily value of Vitamin C and 2 grams of dietary fiber. Pineapple is also a good food to eat often because it is a good source of manganese. This mineral helps the body’s formation of connective tissue and bones. Research also suggests manganese aids the body’s metabolism of carbohydrates and fats. It also helps the cells absorb other nutrients, such as calcium. So make sure to eat your pineapple!

Shredded coconut is only good in small amounts, which is why only one tablespoon is included in this recipe. In large quantities, shredded coconut is high in saturated fat. But a small amount is a good fiber boost. Plus, it definitely contributes to the flavor of this recipe!

I have recently started using Crofter’s brand Morello Cherry fruit spread. Not only does it taste amazing, it is organic, sweetened with only natural cane sugar, and one tablespoon of the cherry jam provides 15% daily value of vitamin C. Finally! A jam with health benefits. Spread it on this pineapple coconut pancake for optimal summery taste.

Piña Colada Pancake for One

dessert for breakfast day two single serving pancake pina colada with cherry jam

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp organic raw agave syrup
  • 1 tsp egg (I used Egg Beaters egg substitute)
  • 1/4 cup Silk brand original coconut milk
  • 1 cup pineapple chunks
  • 1 tbl shredded coconut (I used sweetened)
  • 1 tbl Crofter’s brand Morello Cherry Premium Fruit Spread (for topping)

Directions:

Spray a small pan with nonstick spray.

In a small bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt, agave, egg, and coconut milk. Mix until combined. Add about 1/3 of the pineapple chunks and 1/2 the coconut and stir.

Over medium heat, drop the batter onto the prepared pan. Allow to cook for a few minutes. Slide spatula underneath pancake and flip to cook the other side for just a couple of minutes.

When done cooking the pancake, remove from heat. Place pancake on a plate and top with the remaining pineapple chunks, the jam, and remaining coconut flakes.

Now you’re ready for a refreshing piña colada – in family-friendly pancake form!

dessert for breakfast day two pina colada pancake and cherry jam

Sources: http://www.myfitnesspal.com/food/calories/pineapple-raw-all-varieties-9266http://www.livestrong.com/article/241021-pineapple-nutrition-benefits/

To see Monday’s Dessert for Breakfast! post, click here.

You Might Also Like:

Sweet Strawberry Crèpe with Frozen Yogurt

single serve strawberry crepe with frozen yogurt

One response

  1. A really creative idea for either a pancake, or a pina colada.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

