Dessert for Breakfast! Day Five: Plum and Almond Upside-Down Mug Cake

This is the fifth and final “dessert for breakfast post.” I hope you enjoy! (I do a lot of posts about dessert-y breakfasts, so I guess it’s not really the last dessert for breakfast, just the last post in this series.)

I have made several breakfast cakes in a mug before. I have been using a recipe based on Chocolate Covered Katie. I love this recipe because it is so easy to customize, and I like trying different things. Today we have a seemingly random, but really very good and wholesome breakfast/dessert recipe.

I was thinking of making some kind of peach upside-down cake in a mug, but then I thought plum would be more interesting. It’s not technically upside down, since I did not turn it out of the mug. I don’t know if that would be possible. But basically it’s soft, warm plums at the bottom, covered by hearty whole wheat cake and topped with sliced almonds and a couple extra plum slices.

Plum and Almond Upside-Down Mug Cake

Serves one

plum upside down cake in a mug with almonds desserts for breakfast day five

Ingredients:

  • 1 plum
  • 3 tbls whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbl organic raw agave syrup
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp peanut butter
  • 1 tbl + 2 tsps water
  • 2 tbls sliced almonds

Directions: Cut the plum into slices. I left it at slices, but I think the ones at the bottom should be cut into even smaller pieces, so they are easier to deal with.

Assemble the slices in the bottom of a mug as shown, reserving a few slices for topping if desired:

plums arranged in mug for desserts for breakfast day five plum almond mug cake

In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, agave, peanut butter, vanilla, and water. Mix thoroughly. Pour this mixture over the plum slices in the mug.

Microwave for about 25 seconds. Then top with the almonds and microwave for another 20-25 seconds.

Remove from microwave and top with reserved plum slices. Wait a few minutes for it to cool (the plum at the bottom got quite hot when I did this). Then go ahead and enjoy!

plum upside down mug almond cake for desserts for breakfast day five

To see Thursday’s Dessert for Breakfast! Post, click here!

You Might Also Like:

Choco-Banana Breakfast Mug Cake

breakfast mug cake chocolate banana with walnut and coconut

One response

  1. OMG! THIS LOOKS SOOO GOOOD!!! I have to try it. I just love almonds ground up like that. I didn’t even think of using plums with it!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

