Pumpkin Cheesecake Dessert Hummus

Is there anyone else out there named “Sabine?” If that’s you, you probably know the pain of explaining the pronunciation of the name to those who are inexperienced with Sabines. This is my name, and all my life I’ve had trouble getting people to accept it. Whenever I first meet someone, they ask me my name and I tell them it is Sabine. They lean forward, wrinkling their eyebrows. “Sabrina?” They ask hopefully, since that’s so much easier to say than Sabine. I repeat my name several times, and time after time the poor confused individual makes a wrong guess: “Sabee?” “Sabina?” “Saveen?” Finally, I tell them to just say “bean” except with a “Suh” tagged on at the beginning. Then they finally get it.

Once people get how to say my name, they often decide it’s funny. I’ve had tons of people make fun of me for having a common term for a legume in my name. When I was a kid I would get a lot of grief over this every time I met a new immature child, who would undoubtably ask me if I liked beans, since they are in my name.

I must say I have always liked most kinds of beans: green, black, pinto, and garbanzo were always my favorites. I was never fond of lima beans (or jelly beans.) However, I used to feel ashamed of liking them, since they were in my name. But now I have gotten over that, and can enjoy beans with no problem. For example, today I used garbanzo beans to make a special sweet cookie dough dip, also known as dessert hummus.

This is a healthy dessert, and could even make a good breakfast. The whole recipe provides 60% of the daily value of Vitamin A, 12 grams of fiber, and 14 grams of protein.

This was intended to taste like cookie dough, with the flavors of pumpkin and cheesecake mixed in. It did taste like cookie dough, but also had a present flavor of something a little…beany. It didn’t taste too much like beans, but did give the impression of being a sweet hummus. It had a sort of exotic flavor, with the umami taste of beans blended into the sweetness of pumpkin, spices, and chocolate covered raisins. The cream cheese makes it even richer.

Pumpkin Cheesecake Dessert Hummus

inspired by Chef in Disguise and Chocolate Covered Katie

serves one to two people

dessert hummus: pumpkin cheesecake with chocolate yogurt raisins

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cooked garbanzo beans (I used Westbrae Natural brand; they are precooked)
  • 1 Laughing Cow creamy Swiss flavor cheese triangle
  • 2 tbls pumpkin butter
  • 1/2 tbl organic raw agave syrup
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • shake of cinnamon
  • sprinkle of nutmeg
  • 2 tbls Sun Maid brand dark chocolate yogurt covered raisins

Directions: Place one cup of cooked garbanzo beans in a large bowl. Use a spoon to mush them as much as possible.

Place cheese, pumpkin butter, agave, cinnamon, nutmeg, and mushed garbanzo beans in a blender or food processor. (I used a blender, and it worked okay but there were still a few annoying lumps in the finished product.)

Puree until the mixture is homogenous and all the lumps are gone (at least, for the most part.)

Place cookie dough in bowl. Add chocolate covered raisins and stir them in gently.

Serve! (You can chill in the fridge for a few minutes if desired.)

pumpkin cheesecake dessert hummus with chocolate yogurt raisins

You Might Also Like:

Red Velvet Pumpkin Cupcakes with Chocolate Pumpkin Cream Cheese Frosting

cupcakes red velvet with pumpkin cream cheese chocolate icing and pumpkin butter filling

One response

  1. I think Sabine is a beautiful name. Beans are good, too.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

