A Meditation on Human Nature and Easy Nachos for One

Yes, we will eventually get to this:

nachos for one homemade tortilla chips

But first I need to rant a little about this:

phone from this site:http://freeiphones.co/

In my math class the other day, our teacher asked if we all had graphing calculators. I was a member of a majority of students who had not invested in this expensive piece of machinery. My teacher said it was totally all right not to have a graphing calculator; all we had to do was use our smartphones to visit a graphing-calculator website.

This is not the first time I have had a teacher assume every student in the class has a smartphone. In my history class one time, the teacher had told us to research and record some facts about a certain time period in history. The textbook, as is to be expected, was extraordinarily information-poor. There were about 5 facts about the historical time period, and students needed more like 20 facts. So the teacher instructed the class to take out their phones and research said time period.

First of all, we’re not even “supposed” to have our phones out in the classroom. Secondly, people need to come to terms with the fact that, strange as it may seem, NOT EVERYONE HAS A SMARTPHONE!!!!

I am one of the few, oft-forgotten folk out there who go through life without a smartphone. And no, I am not one of those “poor, deprived children” whose parents won’t “let me” get a flashy phone with internet access. My dad is constantly receiving phones to review due to his involvement in the newspaper business, and some of his older phones have been offered to me as hand-me-downs. I suppose I will have to get a phone at some point. But I’ve been putting it off as long as I can.

Don’t get me wrong, all the cool features of smartphones are appealing to me. I love how people can personalize their phone cases in so many different styles. It would be great to have internet access whenever I desperately need to know 20 facts about the 1920s ASAP! And it sure would be nice to scan the app-thingy on the back of the Frosted Flakes box and find out how I can earn my tiger stripes 🙂

With that said, I still balk at the idea of becoming a smartphone owner. Why? The only good reason I can fathom is because I’m not interested in becoming a zombie slave. I see people of all ages walking around staring at their phone screen instead of the path ahead of them. I have numerous times been interrupted in the middle of a conversation with someone because they were consumed by a sudden irresistible urge to check their phone. It’s almost as if these people are possessed, slaves to some greater power that will, if not served promptly and well, retaliate with unimaginable punishment. But in my philosophy, this is not a new development. It dates back to a time WAY before smartphones were ever dreamed of. This “greater power” is nothing digital, merely the inherent human need for companionship.

When we lived in caves and hunted down mammoths for food, our need for companionship may have manifested itself in the form of living together with one’s family, huddling close together on the most frigid nights of the Ice Age. Fast forward to the Victorian Era, when women were distraught if they did not receive a letter from their beaus every week or so, and tea parties were held every so often for ever-so-fun discussions of ballroom dancing and watercress sandwiches. Fifty or sixty years ago, parents complained that their teenage children were constantly tying up the phone lines, chatting with friends for hours each afternoon. Nowadays, many of us can’t stand to be away from our smartphones for five minutes straight. Every time the device bleeps with a new text, that text is a baby about to fall in a vat of boiling water and it is urgent that we get our fingers on the keys as fast as possible to reply. Otherwise an innocent child risks terrible injury. That innocent child lives in our social insecurities, which exist now just as they did in the Victorian age, when a proper lady dared not burp at a tea party or who knew what would become of her social standing?

I’m no psychiatrist, but it sure looks to me like the general public is so afraid of being “uncool,” it has pushed all other aspects of life aside to attend to fleeting social moments via the smartphone. I imagine it was a ripple effect: since a few individuals decided to make texting their first priority, imagining others were doing the same, others were forced to do the same to fit in with that original crowd. And all their friends needed to stay in the loop, so they got smartphones, and their own contacts followed, etcetera. Now millions of phone owners live under the illusion that there is no life out there for them unless they are constantly on call to respond to text messages. This extends to all the social networking sites people access with their phones’ useful internet capabilities: you don’t have a life unless you follow all the other cool people on a billion different sites which constantly fluctuate in and out of popularity.

But who is the true owner – the human, or the phone? It depends on the strength of the individual’s will. These phones do have great power, and can take over about half the humans they encounter with their magical shimmering screen and bleating text message notifications. But there is hope yet for the human species. Some individuals have demonstrated great power and “domesticated” their wild phones. The bleats can be silenced while the human is not in the mood to deal with the neediness of his zombie slave brethren. Those with great willpower can tear their eyes away from the screen, regardless of its hypnotizing appeal. I have seen a few individuals choose not to let their phones take over their lives, and I know they will be the ones to carry on our species while the hypnotized ones serve their masters on Planet Cellphonia. I hope I will prove to be strong like these fearless leaders. I hope when I finally conform and get a cell phone, I will be able to refrain from pulling it out during a test or a funeral. And I hope that someday, those poor possessed ones will regain their independence. Personally, I would never revoke my friendship with someone due to a slight delay in their response time to my texts.

What does this whole rant about human nature and cell phones have to do with nachos? Ummm…I did make myself a bowl of healthy nachos last weekend. And I did not whip out my cell phone and start texting while I was eating these. They got my complete, undivided attention.

These nachos are healthy because the tortilla chips are baked, not fried in fat. I made them myself, out of blue corn and flaxseed tortillas for an interesting and healthy alternative to traditional, fattening chips. I added Amy’s brand refried beans, which are made with all natural ingredients as opposed to many other canned beans with all these additives and yucky stuff. What with the beans and cheese, these nachos are a god source of protein. I added a bit of avocado for healthy fats and deliciousness! The red pepper I used was a bit spicy, so feel free to use a little less.

Overall, I was definitely pleased with this easy, healthy nacho recipe. I recommend it to those who only want a controlled serving of nachos, or are trying to eat healthy and not miss out on old favorites! Enjoy.

Easy Nachos for One

tortilla chips made using guide from simplyrecipes.com

easy homemade nachos single serving

Ingredients:

  • 2 personal-sized tortillas (I used Mission brand blue corn and flaxseed blend tortillas)
  • 1/4 cup Amy’s vegetarian refried beans
  • 1/4 cup shredded Mexican cheese
  • 1/8 of an avocado, chopped
  • 1 small red pepper, chopped

Directions:

To make tortilla chips: Preheat oven to 350 Fahrenheit. Spray a cookie sheet generously with nonstick spray. Rip tortillas to chip-sized pieces (the smaller they are the crispier they will get!)

Spread tortilla pieces across the prepared cookie sheet. Bake in the preheated oven for 6 minutes. Then remove from the oven, turn the chips over, and bake for another minute or two.

To make nachos: Warm up refried beans in microwave for 20 seconds. Place tortilla chips in a bowl. Top with the warmed beans, cheese, avocado and pepper. Microwave until cheese is melted.

Enjoy!

You Might Also Like:

The Internet, Ancient Gods, and Pizza

flat out flatbread hummus pizza

3 responses

  1. I was going to comment on the smartphones but then I saw the phrase “the red pepper was a bit spicy”. I’ve never encountered a spicy red bell pepper. Was this a chile pepper?

  2. Can we deport people to the planet Cellphonia? Please?

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

