Maple Banana Crêpe

banana and maple syrup crêpe no egg

Seeing pictures of this heavenly crêpe bring tears to my eyes. (Well not really, but you get the picture.) Not only was this delicious, maple-infused crêpe one of the best breakfast treats I’ve ever made, it was the best and only good point of my day. Since breakfast, my Sunday basically just deteriorated until what could have been a rosy blossom of weekend glory was reduced to a gritty clump of bitter weeds.

I was in the middle of breakfast, minding my own business in the solitude of the kitchen, when suddenly certain members of my family barged into the room, arguing. I tried to get my word in to help someone understand that yes, you do write thank you cards to everyone who gives you a gift, even if you thanked them in public. I was bestowing my wise sisterly advice on the little bro in a time of need. And what reception did I receive? Let’s just say I’m now short a few eardrum cells as a result.

I had wanted to go shopping this weekend, but everyone was busy. Too busy to care about their poor bored daughter whose only wish was to go to a thrift store, no less, and drop a few bucks for the potential makings of a unique Halloween costume. So I moped around for a while until my dad dragged me to the mall with some male family members. You can guess how much shopping I got done under those circumstances.

Oh, and my perfect record of never being pooped on by a bird (or other animal) was soiled today (excuse the bad pun.) I spent some time on the pier with the three guys, and apparently we were sitting right under the waste-release vault of a seagull perched directly above us. (At least one of my relatives got bestowed with the honor as well.)

I got home from the mall/pier/poo excursion, only to find my home at least half as noisy as before.

Later I ventured to try and make some ice cream sandwiches, but I think I messed up on the recipe because they don’t look right. I hate when a recipe doesn’t work out, because I lament the wasted time that could have been spent on something else.

I ate some “seedless” grapes that seemed to be full of seeds.

I took a walk and was stuck behind a couple who walked SOOOO SLOWLY…

By the time I made it home it was nearly time to leave for the restaurant. We went to Pat’s Italian Restaurant to celebrate my grandmother’s birthday. I was sure I’d have a horrible time.

Actually, I had a nice time talking to my younger cousin and some of our other relatives. The restaurant was one of the fanciest I’d ever been to. It made me think of the restaurant in the bottle that Spongebob goes to sometimes in Bikini Bottom (that’s how fancy I am!)

By the time I got home, my bad mood had mellowed out somewhat. But I was still sure I was in for a rotten evening. Just cuz.  When I have a rotten day, it kind of carries over into the night, and the next day, and the next… unless a miracle happens.

And suddenly, one did. I was uploading the pictures of the maple banana crêpe to my computer, glumly staring at the images of a better time, when I noticed a bunch of photos I didn’t remember seeing. It turns out, they were the pictures of a particularly detailed nail design I did several weeks ago, spent ages on, and thought later I’d lost the pictures somehow. Seeing those precious images, which I can now upload to my blog and share with you all, my mood climbed several steps.

Now I know I wouldn’t have had time to go shopping anyway. I’m glad I did spend some quality time with my extended family, and celebrated with my grandmother. Having the bird poop on me was not pleasant, but at least now I had some fodder for a blog post. And as for the ice cream sandwiches, I ended up putting them in the freezer anyway…stay tuned for (hopefully) a post on those if they do turn out okay!)

Was it a rotten day, or a good day? It all depends on how you look at it. Usually days feel better if they begin on the right foot – so start out with a good breakfast to put a smile on your face. Like this maple banana crêpe. And hopefully if you eat any grapes later on, they will really be seedless! 🙂

No guarantees though.

Enjoy!

Maple Banana Crêpe for One

based on this recipe on about.com

banana maple crêpe

Ingredients:

crêpe

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tbls nonfat milk
  • 1-2 tbls water
  • 1 1/2 tbls organic maple syrup

filling/topping

  • 1/2 banana, sliced thinly
  • 1 tsp maple syrup

Directions:

Spray a pan with non stick spray.

In a small bow, combine crêpe ingredients and mix well.

Pour into pan. Heat to medium and cook until bubbles appear on the surface. Flip, cook the other side.

Remove from heat. Top crêpe with banana slices. Fold over, add additional banana slices and a drizzle of maple syrup. And you’re good to go!

Good morning, and have a splendid day!

maple banana crêpe egg free

One response

  1. May the water-release vault of a seagull never open above you again.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

