Happy National Sandwich Day!

No, I’m not making this up. Just ask Wikipedia! November 3rd is the glorious occasion of American National Sandwich Day, the one day a year dedicated to celebrating sandwiches. So what are you waiting for? Bust out the fireworks, strike up the band with the sandwich anthem, heat up the barbie (to grill some sandwiches of course!)

Okay, maybe you didn’t do anything much in the way of sandwich-related festivities today. Me neither. I only remembered at the last minute. And I’d already let National French Fried Clam Day and National Cook for your Pets day fall by the wayside on Friday. (I am a vegetarian, so I wouldn’t be eating any clams anyway. My cat might’ve wanted some though.) I missed Deviled Egg Day yesterday. In fact, I had scrambled eggs for breakfast – such blasphemy! As you can see, I’m not really in the habit of observing food-related holidays. But as a blogger, I feel I should let my holiday spirit shine every once in a while.

maple, fake bacon, and peanut sandwich National Sandwich Day 2013

Speaking of the holidays: is it just me, or are the holiday ads starting up early this year? I could’ve sworn last year there were none until after Thanksgiving. This year, they were creeping up on us before Halloween. I like Christmas music, but that doesn’t mean I’m ready to hear a billion ads for Christmas presents and see creepy little elves in every store window. There’s something so enchanting about the holiday season…that will be utterly wrecked if the season gets any longer. So if anyone reading this works for an advertising company, please try to put off the Christmas ads as long as you can! Do it for the children…please???

Regardless of how you feel about the (not-so) upcoming winter holidays, I wish you a delightful National Sandwich Day. I am being a good blogger this time and actually celebrating this food holiday, unlike those earlier ones I neglected. My celebration consisted of a fun sandwich combination: veggie bacon, maple syrup, and salted peanuts. Slap it on some whole wheat bread and enjoy a yummy, nourishing meal!

Maple, Veggie Bacon, and Peanut Sandwich

serves one

National Sandwich Day 2013: maple, fake bacon, peanut sandwich

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices of whole wheat bread (I used Rudi’s Organic Bakery brand)
  • 2 Morning Star brand vegetarian bacon strips (found in freezer section of grocery store)
  • 2 tbls organic pure maple syrup (adjust amt. to taste)
  • 1 tbl roasted, salted peanuts (adjust amt. to taste)

Directions:

Cook fake bacon strips according to package directions (about a minute and a half in the microwave.)

Pour maple syrup on both slices of bread. Arrange peanuts and fake bacon strips on top of the maple on one slice of bread. Cover with the other slice of bread, maple side down.

If desired, cut sandwich in half.

Happy National Sandwich Day!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

