Blueberry Lemon Coffee Cake Cheesecake

Technology doesn’t like me! I’ve noticed lately that whenever I touch anyone’s phone or computer, it starts to work more slowly, the rainbow ball of death rears its ugly head, things break… I even have one friend who’s wary to let me touch her computer because of incidents like this! It’s not that I’m careless or aim to break things, but somehow technology seems to become more “delicate” when I’m around. In my opinion, all the electronics in the world have conspired to play broken whenever I get my hands on them. And of course, no one ever thinks to blame the contraption! No, those electronics appear so innocent…they’re only concealing the evil within.

A couple weeks ago, I couldn’t get the charger for my camera’s battery to fit into the wall outlet. I tried coaxing it gently, then pushing a little harder. Eventually I got quite a workout jamming it (gently) into the wall, but it just refused to fit. As a result, I couldn’t charge the battery, and the camera kept shutting off. On the screen was the all-too-familiar nag of “charge the battery.” Yeah, right. I just charged it!!! But of course the charger wasn’t working, for some unknown reason…

So we had to order a new charger. Thankfully, it was free, as stipulated under the kind Canon Elph warranty. While I await its arrival, I’ve been limping along by borrowing my brother’s camera. It doesn’t seem to be part of the conspiracy, as it’s been working diligently for me with no issues. In fact, I used it to get the most winning shot of Artemis sneaking some of my water the other night:

Artemis dipping her paw in water

Busted!

I’m always trying to think of creative twists on classic recipes. Last week I got it into my head to combine two of my favorite desserts: coffee cake and cheesecake. I envisioned a soft layer of coffee cake with a smooth, tangy cream cheese layer over that. Needless to say, a cinnamon crumb topping would be involved!

As it turned out, the coffee cake layer I made turned out firmer than traditional coffee cake, sort of like a cake-y crust. It still tasted great, though, with the decadent cheesecake, flavorful blueberries, and a hint of lemon. The cinnamon topping adds delightful sweetness to the tart lemon flavor.  And of course it was healthier than a traditional dessert. I replaced all the white flour called for whole wheat pastry flour, and subbed in Earth Balance for a trans fat free alternative to butter. The blueberries are a great source of antioxidants, and the lemon zest is high in vitamin C and Potassium. A fun dessert alternative to try!

Blueberry Lemon Coffee Cake Cheesecake

Makes one 9″ round cheesecake

cheesecake coffee cake blueberry

Ingredients:

for coffee cake “crust”

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbl Earth Balance original buttery spread
  • 2 tbls lemon curd
  • 1 container Chobani Greek nonfat lemon yogurt
  • zest of one lemon

for cheesecake

  • 1 cup plain cream cheese (I used 365 brand cream cheese spread from Whole Foods Market)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup organic light agave syrup
  • 1 tbl lemon curd
  • zest of 1/2 lemon
  • 3/4 cup fresh blueberries

for cinnamon streusel topping

  • 2 tbls Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbls whole wheat pastry flour

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 Fahrenheit. Spray a 9″ round pan with nonstick spray.

For cinnamon topping: In a medium bowl, combine 2 tbls Earth Balance, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 2 tbls whole wheat pastry flour. Mix until a crumbly mixture forms. Set aside.

For coffee cake “crust:” In a large bowl, combine dry coffee cake ingredients and mix. Add wet ingredients and mix, but be careful not to over mix.

Pour batter into prepared pan, and spread evenly. Bake in preheated oven for 3-4 minutes. When done, remove from oven, but leave the oven preheated.

For cheesecake: In another large bowl, combine cream cheese, 1 egg, 1/3 cup agave, and one tbl lemon curd. Blend using an electric mixer on low speed until smooth. Add the lemon zest and 3/4 cup blueberries. Stir gently.

When coffee cake has baked a few minutes, pour the cheesecake mixture on top. Over this, sprinkle the cinnamon topping. Return to the oven for another 25 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean.

Let the cheesecake cool a bit, then place in refrigerator to chill. Serve cold.

blueberry coffee cake cheesecake with lemon

Update: My new camera charger came a few days ago. I have yet to try it out, but I hope it never reads this blog post and gets in on the technology conspiracy!

I had lots of help for this recipe! Thank you to The Realistic Nutritionist for the basis for my coffee cake base, to King Arthur Flour for the easy cheesecake recipe, and to Southernfood.about.com for the crumb topping recipe.

Source: Lemon zest nutrition info from: http://www.myfitnesspal.com/food/calories/lemon-zest-lemon-8311647

2 responses

  1. Perhaps you have not made the proper sacrifice to the technology gods for them to want to cooperate with you.

    1. The technology gods must have a programming error.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

