Fancy French Baked Potato

I intended to invest some time oven-baking some potatoes for the family to share, delicately blending the insides with choice ingredients, and baking some more until they were golden. But by the time I’d checked a few tasks off my to-do list, it was too late and I too lazy to go through all that loving care and attention for a bunch of potatoes. So I ended up just microwaving a half a potato for myself, tossing in some uncommon add-ins I came up with on the spur of the moment. And as it turned out, the potato tasted almost gourmet!

fancy "French" baked potato with apricot, cranberry and bleu cheese

I’d got it into my head to make a “fancy” baked sweet potato, with a French flavor theme. Hence the bleu, not blue, cheese. 🙂 I had planned to use marmalade, but I couldn’t find any organic marmalade at the store so I settled for apricot jam, which contributed just the right amount of sweetness to complement the powerful cheese. It’s hard for me to leave dried cranberries out of anything, so on they went. Et voila! A fancy “French” baked potato, made in under 15 minutes in my microwave.

Though this recipe serves one, the concept could and should be applied to a number of potatoes, for an easy side dish for the family. If one isn’t too lazy and pressed for time, one could even oven bake an army of these and use them as a holiday side dish. In my version, I used the yellow type of sweet potato, but the orange type would probably also be delightful.

Fancy French Baked Potato for One

made using guide from allrecipes.com

apricot, bleu cheese and cranberry baked potato

Ingredients:

  • 1 sweet potato (you will end up using only half)
  • 1 tsp Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread
  • pinch salt
  • 2 tbls crumbled bleu cheese
  • 1 tbl apricot jam (I used Crofter’s organic apricot spread)
  • 1 tbl dried cranberries

Directions:

Scrub potato, and place on a microwave-safe plate. Poke several holes in potato with a fork. Microwave for about 2 minutes.

Cut potato in half, and save the other half for next time. (You will be making this recipe again!) Microwave your chosen half for another minute or two.

Remove from microwave. Use fork to mash the insides a little. Add the Earth Balance and salt, and try to spread it into the potato a bit. Top with the cheese crumbles, jam and dried cranberries. Microwave a few extra seconds to slightly melt the cheese, if desired.

Let cool and bon appetit!

You Might Also Like:

Whole Wheat Cheese and Avocado Crêpe

savory whole wheat crèpe with avocado and cheese

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

