Banana Cherry Berry Baked Oatmeal

baked oatmeal strawberry banana cherry coconut

I know what you’re thinking: that I’m so late to jump on the baked oatmeal bandwagon. That that is so last year, and I might as well be wearing bell bottom jeans and doing my hair up in a beehive and telling you all it’s the hip new thing to do. And maybe you’re right.

Last winter, baked oatmeal recipes started flooding the internet. Don’t you remember? Baked oatmeal with apple cinnamon, baked oatmeal with pumpkin, etcetera, popped up in a billion places until a body could hardly open up a computer without being bombarded by blog posts filled with pictures of warm, aromatic oats straight from the oven.

I wanted to get with the program and bake some oatmeal of my own, but I just never got around to it until a few months ago when I tried a recipe and it just totally flopped and I decided it wasn’t really worth trying anymore because the trend had passed anyway. So I let go of any baked oatmeal aspirations…until today. See, I’d just been running in the freezing cold, gray morning and wanted a comforting, yet healthy breakfast to warm me up. I came across my notes from the last, failed attempt at baked oatmeal from this fall, and memories of those bloggers’ images of tantalizing, hot plates of sweet oats materialized in my mind’s eye. Oh, all right, I told myself. Just one more try. It might be good, and you don’t have to post it.

And…it was good. Scratch that, it was great. Scrumptastically fantabulicious. Soft forkfuls of spiced and sweetened oats, made even better with baked banana and juicy strawberries, and embellished with tart dried cherries and a touch of coconut flakes… What could be a better warm,  filling breakfast on a cold day? I felt like the flavors of summer were infused in this cold-weather treat, making it even more wonderful.

I like to think of myself as a fairly nice individual. It would just be outright mean of me to deny you all the yumminess of yet another baked oatmeal recipe. Regardless of whether the trend has passed or not, delicious is delicious, and I’m just going to go ahead and post this right now. Who knows, maybe I’ll spark up the trend again!

Banana Cherry Berry Baked Oatmeal

based on this recipe from Chocolate Covered Katie

serves 1-3

banana baked oatmeal with strawberry, coconut, dried cherry

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats (I used Bob’s Red Mill brand 5 grain rolled hot cereal)
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • generous shake of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbl organic pure maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 3 large strawberries, chopped
  • 2 tbls dried cherries
  • 2 tbls sweetened flaked coconut

Directions:

Preheat oven to 380 Fahrenheit. Line a regular sized muffin pan with 3 paper liners, or line a cake pan with aluminum foil and spray with non stick cooking spray. (I did the latter, being fresh out of paper liners   😦 )

In a small bowl, combine the oats, brown sugar and cinnamon. Stir. Add the vanilla, maple, milk, and mashed banana. Mix. Add the chopped strawberries, dried cherries, and coconut flakes and stir.

Distribute oat mixture into muffin liners, or spoon a few equally-sized globs onto foil-lined cake pan. Bake in prepared oven for 18-20 minutes or until firm.

Bon appetit!

cherry coconut strawberry banana baked oatmeal

Seriously, this is not just a passing food fad, is it? Baked oatmeal has got to be here to stay!

You Might Also Like:

My Perfect Oatmeal

cherry almond blueberry oatmeal

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

